Built of eternal Love – The Taj Mahal

February 28th, 2011

Built of eternal Love – The Taj MahalThe way to a human’s heart is through its stomach; maybe that is why every second Indian restaurant is named Taj Mahal nowadays. The actual name giver is located in North Indian Agra and was built by Great Mogul Shah Jahan in memory of his beloved wife Mumtaz Mahal. His intensive and eternal love as well as the abilities of Persian architect Abu Fazel left the world a unique gem of Indo-Islamic architecture behind »»

Behind the Scenes of the Golden Temple in Amritsar

Behind the Scenes of the Golden Temple in AmritsarThe university town of Amritsar can truly be called to be the heart of Punjab. The city is located not too far from Pakistani border and is an important commercial hub as well as religious centre of the Sikhs, as it is the home of one of their highest sanctuaries, the Golden Temple. The temple complex has a wonderful open-minded, hospitable and spiritual atmosphere and allows interesting in-depth insights in the daily routine of pilgrims and the temple itself »»

Divine Vārānasi – Stinking to Heaven high

Divine Vārānasi – Stinking to Heaven highVārānasi, the metropolis at the Ganges River, is one of India’s oldest towns and central sanctuary of Hinduism. No other India picture is as famous as the Hindu pilgrims praying and washing themselves in the waters of Ganges River at the so called Ghats. There is no better reflection of the Hindu society than this river. For most of them Vārānasi is definitely the holiest spot on Earth, though for some of them this means some enormous exploitation potential they are taking advantage of with utter disregard. »»

Cloud Nine for Rodents – The Rat Temple ‘Karni Mata’ at Deshnok

Cloud Nine for Rodents – The Rat Temple ‘Karni Mata’ at DeshnokCows, elephants, rivers and even monkeys; in India literally everything you could bump into can be something sacred. One of the most interesting obeisances paid can be witnessed in Deshnok, a small desert town in western Rajasthan being the stage for a religious building dedicated to Karni Mata. Around this sacred patron of the Rajputs and reincarnation of Goddess Durga, the souls of the dead are gathering in the form of four-legged rodents at the Rat Temple »»

Hewn into the bare Rocks – The Churches of Lalibela

April 17th, 2010

Hewn into the bare Rocks – The Churches of LalibelaMillions of years ago the Ethiopian highlands got unfolded by volcanic activity. There, at an altitude of 2500m, the village of Lalibela is located. It is home to unique churches that are originating from the idea to build a second Jerusalem and became hewn into the bare red hard basalt lava rock. On important religious holidays, like for example Easter, the town develops a very interesting atmosphere of spirituality and touristic internationality »»

From Starting in Ende to Ending in Jakarta – Travelling the Sunda Islands

April 30th, 2009

From Starting in Ende to Ending in Jakarta – Travelling the Sunda IslandsThe town of Ende sounds like the final of a trip, but can also be quite a good start for travelling the Indonesian Sunda Islands eastwards, all the way to Jakarta. On the way to Indonesia’s capital you’ll surely experience plenty of possibilities to get in touch with the most diverse people plus look behind the scenes of illustrious names like Bali or Komodo. Indonesia, that also stands for volcanoes, earth quakes and tsunamis. At first glance that doesn’t sound all too well, but who knows, maybe the creative hand of volcanoes’ was active again when giving birth to unique things of culture like artful batik, huge religious temples or filigree old Indonesian shadow puppetry »»

The spiritual Dignity of Fes

April 10th, 2008

The spiritual Dignity of FesThe old hub of the Kingdom of Fès accommodates the biggest historical medina of Northern Africa, while also being home of at least a million people and spiritual centre of the country »»

Faith moves Mountains

April 8th, 2007

Faith moves MountainsFaith, believe and religion are most perceptible in Damascus. Western Europeans will surely immediately spot all the covered women, who are sometimes even completely shrouded in their burqas. In Damas you can meet the coexistence of about 30 different religions. Its adherents are peacefully living together. »»

Sultan Ahmet Mosque

April 7th, 2007

Sultan Ahmet MosqueOriginating from Sultan Ahmet Mosque, Muezzin’s call to prayer spreads out over the city of Istanbul like a stream of fresh air. Majestically soaring towards the sky and sharpened like pencils the six minarets are framing the massive domes of Sultan Ahmet Mosque, which is also called Blue Mosque »»

Hagia Sophia

Hagia SophiaDirectly in the neighbourhood of the Sultan Ahmet Mosque you can find the Hagia Sophia. The former mother church of Byzantine empire is a part of Istanbul for a slightly longer time than Blue Mosque is; if even not to say for more than 1000 years »»

Aus ewiger Liebe gebaut – Das Taj Mahal

28. Februar 2011

Aus ewiger Liebe gebaut – Das Taj MahalLiebe geht bekanntermaßen ja durch den Magen und vielleicht ist genau das die Erklärung, warum bei uns so ziemlich jedes zweite indische Restaurant den Namen Taj Mahal trägt. Der eigentliche Namensgeber ist im nordindischen Agra zu finden und wurde von Großmogul Shah Jahan im Gedenken an seine Hauptfrau Mumtaz Mahal erbaut. Der Welt hinterließen Shah Jahans innige Liebe und sein persischer Architekt Abu Fazel eine einzigartige Kostbarkeit der indo-islamischen Baukunst »»

Hinter den Kulissen des Goldenen Tempels in Amritsar

Hinter den Kulissen des Goldenen Tempels in AmritsarAmritsar kann man zu Recht als das Herz des Punjabs bezeichnen. Der Ort nah der pakistanischen Grenze ist Handelszentrum, Universitätsstadt und beherbergt mit dem Goldenen Tempel eines der höchsten Heiligtümer der Sikhs. Der Tempelkomplex hat eine wunderbar aufgeschlossene, gastfreundliche sowie spirituelle Atmosphäre und gewährt dem aufmerksamen und interessierten Beobachter überwältigende Einblicke in den Alltag der Pilger und des Tempels »»

Göttliches Vārānasi – Zum Himmel hoch stinkend

Göttliches Vārānasi – Zum Himmel hoch stinkendVārānasi, die Millionenstadt am Ganges, ist eine der ältesten Städte Indiens und Zentralheiligtum des Hinduismus. Keines der Indien-typischen Bilder ist weltweit wohl so bekannt wie die Ghats genannten Flussufer und die sich dort im Ganges waschenden und betenden Hindus. Es gibt kein besseres Spiegelbild der Hindu-Gesellschaft als diesen Fluss. Für viele von ihnen ist Vārānasi definitiv der heiligste Ort der Welt, einige wenige allerdings missbrauchen dies und schöpfen das Potential den Glauben ausbeuten zu können rücksichtlos aus »»

Wolke sieben für Nager – Der Rattentempel ‘Karni Mata’ in Deshnok

Wolke sieben für Nager – Der Rattentempel ‘Karni Mata’ in DeshnokVon Kühen, über Elefanten, Flüssen bis hin zu Affen kann in Indien so ziemlich alles heilig sein, was einem vor die Nase kommt. Eine der wohl merkwürdigsten Huldigungen aber ist in Deshnok an der Tagesordnung. Die kleine Wüstenstadt im westlichen Rajasthan ist die Bühne eines Sakralbaus in dem Karni Mata verehrt wird. Diese Schutzgöttin der Rajputen und Reinkarnation der Göttin Durga schart in Form von vierbeinigen Nagern die Seelen der Verstorbenen um sich: im Rattentempel »»

Aus dem Ganzen gehauen – Die Felskirchen von Lalibela

17. April 2010

Aus dem Ganzen gehauen – Die Felskirchen von LalibelaVor Jahrmillionen wurde durch vulkanische Aktivität das äthiopische Hochland aufgefaltet. Dort, auf 2500m Höhe, findet man das Dorf Lalibela mit seinen weltweit einmaligen Kirchen, die, getrieben von der Idee ein zweites Jerusalem zu errichten, in die rote Basaltlava gehauen wurden. An wichtigen religiösen Feiertagen, wie zum Beispiel Ostern, entfaltet sich dort eine sehr interessante Mischung aus Spiritualität und touristischer Internationalität »»

Vom Anfang in Ende zum Ende in Jakarta – Eine Reise auf den Sunda-Inseln

30. April 2009

Vom Anfang in Ende zum Ende in Jakarta – Eine Reise auf den Sunda-InselnDas Städtchen namens Ende kann zugleich auch der Anfang einer Reise sein, zum Beispiel über die indonesischen Sunda-Inseln gen Osten Richtung Jakarta. Auf dem Weg zur Hauptstadt Indonesiens kommt man garantiert mit den unterschiedlichsten Menschen in Kontakt und kann hinter die Kulissen derart klangvoller Namen wie Bali oder Komodo blicken. Indonesien, das steht auch stellvertretend für Vulkane, Erdbeben und Tsunamis. Im Augenblick klingt das irgendwie nach einem wenig einladenden Landstrich, aber wer weiß, nachher hatten die Vulkane sogar ihre schöpferischen Hände mit im Spiel, als sich einzigartige Hochkulturen wie kunstvolle Batik, religiöse Großtempel und das filigrane alt-indonesische Schattentheater entwickelten »»

Die spirituelle Erhabenheit von Fès

10. April 2008

Die spirituelle Erhabenheit von FèsDie alte Königsstadt Fès beherbergt die größte historische Medina Nordafrikas und ist sowohl Zuhause von guter einer Millionen Menschen, als auch spirituelles Zentrum des Landes »»

Glaube versetzt Berge

8. April 2007

Glaube versetzt BergeReligion und Glaube sind in Damaskus sehr fühl- und spürbare Dinge, fallen einem Westeuropäer doch zunächst die teilweise sogar komplett verschleierten Frauen ins Auge. In Damas begegnen sich über 30 verschiedene Glaubensrichtungen und leben in der syrischen Hauptstadt in relativ friedlicher Koexistenz. »»

Sultan Ahmet Moschee

7. April 2007

Sultan Ahmet MoscheeVon der Sultan Ahmet Moschee aus verbreitet sich der Gebetsruf des Muezzins wie ein Schwall frischer Meeresluft über das Stadtgebiet von Istanbul. Majestätisch ragen die sechs wie Bleistifte angespitzten Minarette empor und Rahmen den gewaltigen Kuppelbau und ihren Innenhof ein »»

Hagia Sophia

Hagia SophiaGleich in der Nachbarschaft der Sultan Ahmet Moschee findet man die Hagia Sophia. Die einstige Hauptkirche des byzantinischen Reiches jedoch steht schon ein wenig, um nicht zu sagen 1000 Jahre, länger an ihrem Platz, als die Blaue Moschee »»