Late Summer at Bosporus

September 6th, 2009

Late Summer at BosporusBeside spring also late summer is one of the most attractive travel seasons to have a closer look at the Bosporus pearl, as the climatic mix of sun, clouds and fresh breezes coming from the Mediterranian sea is a perfect background to soak up Istanbul’s attitude towards life at daytime as well as at night like a sponge »»

Marraca$h’s dazzling Bustle

May 22nd, 2008

Marraca$h’s dazzling BustleThe quiet place where the storks are spending their winter vacation is so much more busy and hectic for us humans. Framed by the snow covered peaks of High Atlas while being riddled with exotic palm trees; that is the way how Morocco’s most known city is presenting itself. Marrakech, a place where you can bring your senses into closest contact with the Orient and its clichés »»

Sand Blasted – The desert of Morocco

April 17th, 2008

Sand Blasted – The desert of MoroccoIf you can see your hand in front of your face and it isn’t vanishing into yellow air; if the inside of your lungs doesn’t become dust crumbed and the sun doesn’t burn the last drop of water out of your body; if a camel’s back is not the reason of bruises and that you’re close to being emasculated, yes, then the desert can mean lots of fun… ;-) »»

The spiritual Dignity of Fes

April 10th, 2008

The spiritual Dignity of FesThe old hub of the Kingdom of Fès accommodates the biggest historical medina of Northern Africa, while also being home of at least a million people and spiritual centre of the country »»

Between Orient and Occident

April 25th, 2007

Between Orient and OccidentThere is nobody who never ever heard of the Stories from One Thousand and One Nights before, isn’t there? Without doubt there is no other region in the world as mythic as the shrouded in legends Orient. For centuries it was a cultural centre of then known world, but also birthplace of civilizing achievements. Its proximity to the Holy Land and its wealth in terms of trading and resources quickly brought the Orient into the focus of Western civilisation. Conflicts came up, receded or are persisting until the present days. Empires were built and broke down again. Hence, one of the most enthralling and most misconceived areas of our planet. »»

Colourful Petra

April 10th, 2007

Colourful PetraOne of the few things you’re not about to expect in the Jordan desert between Dead Sea and Wadi Rum is definitely snow. Climate change is unstoppable, but fortunately the sun melted the white stuff and Jordan’s jewel, the unique mountain city of Petra could unfold it’s colourful visage »»

Grey Amman

April 9th, 2007

Grey AmmanIn time at about 5:00a.m. muezzin called to prayer »»

More eternal than Rome – Damascus

April 8th, 2007

More eternal than Rome – DamascusAlready since Bronze Age earth-dwellers settled at the large oasis that is today known as Syrian capital. Already pharaohs like Thutmosis and Amenophis knew Damascus, one of the most continuously inhabited settlements on this planet. Not only the ancient Egyptians had the knowledge where Dimasq is as also two of the most important books worldwide, Bible and Quran, tell stories mentioning Aram-Damascus. Not only UNESCO knows about the Thousand and one Night vibe that is pretty much alive everywhere in Damascus old town, for example at the magnificent and globally unique Umayyad mosque. Damascus, pure orient! »»

Spätsommer am Bosporus

6. September 2009

Spätsommer am BosporusNeben dem Frühjahr ist der Spätsommer eine der attraktivsten Reisezeiten um sich die Perle am Bosporus ein wenig genauer anschauen zu  können. Der Mix aus Sonne, Wolken und frischer Meeresbrise bildet eine ideale Grundlage das Istanbuler Lebensgefühl sowohl tagsüber als auch in der Nacht aufsaugen zu können und Nachschlag zu verlangen »»

Mondänes Marraca$h

22. Mai 2008

Mondänes Marraca$hDort, wo unsere Störche in Ruhe ihren Winterurlaub verbringen, geht es im Reich der Menschen dafür umso wuseliger und hektischer zu. Von den schneebedeckten Gipfeln des Hohen Atlas umzingelt und mit exotischen Palmen gespickt, so präsentiert sich Marrakech, die schlichtweg bekannteste Stadt Marokkos. Ein Ort, an dem man wohl am besten all seine Sinne in Kontakt mit urigem Orient und gängigen Klischees bringen kann »»

In den Sand gesetzt – Marokkos Wüste

17. April 2008

In den Sand gesetzt – Marokkos WüsteWenn die eigene Hand vor Augen nicht in lauter Sand und im gelben Nichts verschwindet. Wenn die Lunge nicht von innen mit Staub paniert und der Planet nicht das letzte Tröpfchen Flüssigkeit aus einem rausbrennt. Wenn der Kamelrücken einem nicht die Männlichkeit wund und die Oberschenkel blau scheuert, ja, dann kann die Wüste richtig Spaß machen… ;-) »»

Die spirituelle Erhabenheit von Fès

10. April 2008

Die spirituelle Erhabenheit von FèsDie alte Königsstadt Fès beherbergt die größte historische Medina Nordafrikas und ist sowohl Zuhause von guter einer Millionen Menschen, als auch spirituelles Zentrum des Landes »»

Zwischen Orient und Okzident

25. April 2007

Zwischen Orient und OkzidentWer kennt sie nicht, die Märchen aus Tausend und einer Nacht? Es gibt wohl keine mythischere Region auf unserer Erde als den sagenumwobenen Orient. Über Jahrhunderte war er sowohl ein kulturelles Zentrum der damals bekannten Welt, als auch Geburtsstätte großer zivilisatorischer Errungenschaften. Seine Nähe zum Heiligen Land sowie sein Reichtum an Rohstoffen rückte ihn nach und nach in das Blickfeld der westlichen Welt. Konflikte kamen auf, ebbten ab oder halten bis heute an. Riesenreiche bildeten sich und zerfielen wieder. Kurzum, eine der spannendsten und oft mißverstandensten Gegenden unserer Welt »»

Farbenfrohes Petra

10. April 2007

Farbenfrohes PetraSchnee ist sicherlich das Letzte, was man in der jordanischen Wüstenlandschaft zwischen Totem Meer und Wadi Rum erwarten könnte, der Klimawandel aber macht vor nichts und niemanden halt. Glücklicherweise taute die weiße Pracht schnell ab und Jordaniens einzigartige Felsenstadt konnte vor blauem Himmel und im Schein der Sonne seine Farbenpracht entfalten »»

Graues Amman

9. April 2007

Graues AmmanPünktlich um 5 Uhr morgens ergreift der Muezzin das Wort, »»

Noch ewiger als Rom – Damaskus

8. April 2007

Noch ewiger als Rom – DamaskusBereits seit der Bronzezeit siedelten in der großflächigen Oase der heutigen syrischen Hauptstadt Erdenbürger, bereits Pharaonen wie Thutmosis und Amenophis kannten Damaskus, einen der am kontinuierlichsten vom Menschen bewohnten Orte auf diesem Planeten. Nicht nur die alten Ägypter kannten Dimasq, auch in den zwei wichtigsten Büchern dieser Erde, der Bibel und natürlich dem Koran, ist von Damas die Rede. Nicht nur die UNESCO findet, dass die Altstadt von Damaskus auch heute noch mit weltweit einzigartigen Bauwerken wie z.B. der Umayyaden-Moschee den betörenden Charme von Tausend und einer Nacht verströmt. Orient pur! »»