Photo Series featuring Berlin’s Metro

March 19th, 2014

Photo Series featuring Berlin’s MetroTogether with my photographer friend Torsten Goltz I developed the idea the portrait Berlin’s underground lines and its architecture. Personally I tightened that project by the requirement to shot at a focal length of 24mm and at aperture f/1.4 only plus admitting only the time between two trains to capture something of photographical value. Here you find the single photo reports »»

Oberbaum – Where all Cardinal Directions meet

October 24th, 2013

Oberbaum – Where all Cardinal Directions meetBerlin-based bridge Oberbaumbrücke is a symbol for many things: Where nowadays cars, metros and tourists cross Spree River from north to south, was once the border between the East and the West. The former border strip was guided by the course of the river; a route, that today is famous for pleasure boat trips. The towers of Oberbaumbrücke are not only identity-establishing for the directly neighbouring club Watergate, but stand first and foremost for the vicinity of Berlin and Brandenburg. Also in my life Oberbaumbrücke played an important role, as it was my first contact with the West after the Berlin Wall fell down »»

Berlin’s Olympia Stadium in Black and White

May 10th, 2013

Berlin’s Olympia Stadium in Black and WhiteMany of Berlin’s places of interest, no matter if built for “perpetuity” or perpetually not being accomplished, are often hard-wired to a single name. Ulbricht has his TV Tower, Wowereit his BBI airport desaster and Honecker dreamed of a 100 years lasting wall. In the 1930′s such dreams year-lasting-wise even had one more zero in the end and threw Germany as well as the rest of the world into turmoil. Only a few witnesses reminding of that time are left, for example Berlin’s mighty Olympiastadion, a massive stadium built by Werner March in the west of the city. Photographically I am interpreting its lines and geometry in dramatic contrasts and in Black and White only »»

Impressions from Berlin II

July 24th, 2012

Impressions from Berlin IIHere is the second instalment of my photo series Impressions from Berlin. After two weeks of rain and crazy weather changes the sun came out again and showed some nice summer performance giving some lovely evening side light that turned the glass fascades of the modern buildings at Potsdamer Platz into a playground for mirroring clouds »»

Istanbul – Turkey’s hidden Capital

June 1st, 2012

Istanbul – Turkey’s hidden CapitalIt’s an open secret that I am taking a great fancy to Istanbul, the world’s only city being situated on two different continents. Since my first visit in 2007 many things have changed. For example now Hagia Sophia and Süleymaniye Mosque are shining in new splendour after having been restored for several years. The city’s biggest highlight is yet still the Bosporus and its mass of water appearing in a new colour every day anew. This time my stay also was long enough to have a look at the Little Hagia Sophia as well as at other mosques like the one in Eminönü or Kabatas »»

Jaipur – Rajasthan’s Pink Panther

February 28th, 2011

Jaipur – Rajasthan’s Pink PantherRetina tickling pink is traditionally Rajasthan‘s colour of hospitality. To the Rajputs this symbolic colour is so much important that their capital’s Old Town once got a Barbie-like coat of paint. Jaipur is like a panther on the jump: graceful, but full of energy that is waiting to get released. It is the buzzing and bustling home of more than 2 million people as well as university city, industrial town and a shining light for all things called culture. Maharaja Jai Singh II. formed Jaipur and built impressive monuments like the Palace of the Winds, the Palace of Water or World’s biggest solar clock; all got framed by imposing fortifications like picturesque Fort Jaigarh or massive Fort Nahargarh »»

Jodhpur – Where Shiva and Allah are shaking Hands

Jodhpur – Where Shiva and Allah are shaking HandsIn Jodhpur muezzin’s call to prayer is getting louder and Arabia coming closer. The city Jodhpur is a very interesting interface between Indian and Arabic influenced cultural areas. The countless picturesque lanes with its historic buildings, Haveli called, are crowded with day life. Though from almost everywhere a glance at the massive Mehrangarh Fort is possible, doesn’t matter how narrow a lane is. The Fort is appears like a massive battle ship anchoring in front of the city gates. The city centre is the Clock Tower being surrounded by the Old Market, a place so diverse that it wouldn’t come as big surprise when bumping into a stall selling already chewed chewing gum »»

Calcutta – Out of (Traffic) Control

Calcutta – Out of (Traffic) ControlWhat is the most important part of the body of someone living in Calcutta? Correct, the honk. It doesn’t matter if a car, motorcycle, rickshaw or bicycle: without it nothing is going on, whether it’s hand-driven or with an echo effect. Calcutta’s traffic, or to be precise the way people are behaving is beyond every experience “enjoyed” thus far. It takes no three seconds until the next high frequency noise is drilling its way through the ear to your brain. It’s a sheer miracle that people aren’t deaf yet… Its horrific traffic as well as unbelievably dirty and unhygienic circumstances are definitely the most dominating elements of the city, making Calcutta being hell’s small forecourt. Fortunately it had a guardian angel, a little woman from Albania: Mother Theresa »»

Asia wrapped in Glass and Steel – Hong Kong

October 7th, 2009

Asia wrapped in Glass and Steel – Hong KongEven after having returned to the People’s Republic of China, former British crown colony Hong Kong still remains to be one of Asia’s most important centres; and not only in financial terms. Independent from sailing under the free-market or communist flag Hong Kong experienced a quite apparent boom which can’t be ignored when strolling along the seaside promenade along Victoria Harbour. Despite being surrounded by turbo capitalism flexing its glass & steel muscles, many things that kept its Asian authenticity can be spotted among the flickering lights of an ocean of illuminated advertisings. First and foremost this authenticity is emerging from all things called freshness, steam and seafood, in short: Hong Kong’s amazing Cantonese cuisine »»

Late Summer at Bosporus

September 6th, 2009

Late Summer at BosporusBeside spring also late summer is one of the most attractive travel seasons to have a closer look at the Bosporus pearl, as the climatic mix of sun, clouds and fresh breezes coming from the Mediterranian sea is a perfect background to soak up Istanbul’s attitude towards life at daytime as well as at night like a sponge »»

Fotoserie über die Berliner U-Bahnen

19. März 2014

Fotoserie über die Berliner U-BahnenZusammen mit meinen Fotografenfreund Torsten Goltz kam die Idee die Berliner U-Bahnen zu porträtieren. Ich persönlich verschärfe dieses Projekt um die Auflage immer nur mit einer Brennweite von 24mm und Blende f/1.4 zu arbeiten und jeweils nur den Abstand zwischen zwei Zügen als Zeit zur Verfügung zu haben um etwas fotografisch Brauchbares davon zu tragen. Hier findet Ihr die einzelnen Fotoserien »»

Oberbaum – Wo sich alle Himmelsrichtungen treffen

24. Oktober 2013

Oberbaum – Wo sich alle Himmelsrichtungen treffenDie Berliner Oberbaumbrücke ist Symbol für Vieles. Wo heute Autos, U-Bahnen und Touristen die Spree von Nord nach Süd überqueren, verlief früher die Grenze zwischen Ost und West. Der ehemalige Grenzstreifen orientierte sich dort am Verlauf der Spree; eine Route auf der heute Ausflugsdampfer verkehren. Die Türme der Oberbaumbrücke symbolisieren die Nachbarschaft von Berlin und Brandenburg und sind nicht nur identitätsstiftend für den direkt danebengelegenen Club Watergate sondern für die gesamte Stadt. Auch in meinem Leben spielt die Oberbaum eine wichtige Rolle: sie war mein Erstkontakt mit dem Westen kurz nachdem die Mauer fiel »»

Marathon bis zur Ostkurve – Das Berliner Olympiastadion in Schwarz und in Weiß

10. Mai 2013

Marathon bis zur Ostkurve – Das Berliner Olympiastadion in Schwarz und in WeißViele Berliner Wahrzeichen, ob für die “Ewigkeit” gebaut oder ewig nicht fertig gestellt, sind oftmals fest mit einem Namen verdrahtet. Ulbricht hat seinen Fernsehturm, Wowereit sein Debakel mit dem BBI-Flughafen und Honecker träumte von 100jährigen Mauern. In den 1930er Jahren hängte man derartigen Träume sogar noch eine Null ran, was Deutschland und die Welt in eine der schwärzesten Episoden ihres Daseins stürzte. Nur wenige Zeugen erinnern noch an diese Zeit, unter anderem das gewaltige, von Werner March erbaute Berliner Olympiastadion dessen Linien und Geometrie ich in dramatischen Kontrasten und in Schwarz und Weiß interpretiere »»

Impressionen aus Berlin II

24. Juli 2012

Impressionen aus Berlin IIHier gibt es die zweite Folge meiner Serie Impressionen aus Berlin die die Stadt zu meiner Türschwelle bei interessanten Lichtstimmungen aufgreift. Nach zwei Wochen Regen und wilden Wetterwechseln zeigte sich die Sonne endlich wieder und verwandelte den Potsdamer Platz samt seiner Glasfassaden in ein Spiegelkabinett für Himmel und Wolken »»

Istanbul – Heimliche Hauptstadt der Türkei

1. Juni 2012

Istanbul – Heimliche Hauptstadt der TürkeiDas ich an der weltweit einzigen auf zwei Kontinenten gelegenen Stadt einen Narren gefressen habe, ist ein offenes Geheimnis. In Istanbul hat sich seit meinem ersten Besuch in 2007 viel geändert. Zum Beispiel erstrahlen jetzt nach langjähriger Restauration sowohl die Hagia Sophia als auch die Süleymaniye Moschee in endgültig neuem Licht. Das größte Highlight ist aber nach wie vor der Bosporus, dessen Wassermassen jeden Tag aufs Neue in einer anderen Farbe erscheinen. Diesmal reichte die Zeit sogar für einen Besuch der kleinen Hagia Sophia als auch anderer Moscheen, wie z.B. der in Eminönü oder aber Kabataş »»

Jaipur – Rajasthans Rosaroter Panther

28. Februar 2011

Jaipur – Rajasthans Rosaroter PantherDas die Netzhaut kitzelnde Rosarot ist in Rajasthan traditionell die Farbe der Gastfreundschaft. In Jaipur, der Hauptstadt der Rajputen, wurde gar die komplette Altstadt in dieses symbolträchtige Farbgewand gehüllt. Jaipur ist dabei wie ein Panther auf dem Sprung: anmutig und voller Energie zugleich, ist quirliger Lebensmittelpunkt von über 2 Millionen Menschen, ist Universitäts- und Industriestadt ebenso wie kulturgeschichtliche Lichtgestalt. Das Schaffen des Maharajas Jai Singh II. bescherte Jaipur einen Reichtum an imposanten Bauten wie dem Palast der Winde, dem Palast des Wassers, der größten Sonnenuhr der Welt sowie beeindruckenden Festungen wie dem pittoresken Jaigarh Fort oder aber wehrhaften Nahargarh Fort »»

Jodhpur – Wo sich Shiva und Allah die Hand reichen

Jodhpur – Wo sich Shiva und Allah die Hand reichenIn Jodhpur ist der Ruf des Muezzins schon lauter. Arabien rückt näher. In Jodhpur ergänzen sich die Einflüsse zweier Welten und bilden eine sehr interessante Schnittstelle zwischen indischem und arabischem Kulturkreis. Die kleinen pittoresken Straßen mit ihren historischen Häusern, Haveli genannt, quellen nur so vor Leben über. Doch wie eng die Gasse auch sein mag, ein Blick auf das wie ein Schlachtschiff vor den Toren der Stadt liegende massive Mehrangarh Fort ist eigentlich immer möglich. Zentrum der Stadt ist der Uhrenturm mit dem ihm umgebenden alten Markt, dessen außergewöhnliches Sortiment nicht wundern lassen würde, wenn man sogar angekaute Kaugummis kaufen könnte »»

Kalkutta – Außer (Verkehrs-) Kontrolle

Kalkutta – Außer (Verkehrs-) KontrolleWas ist der wichtigste Körperteil der Einwohner von Kalkutta? Richtig, die Hupe. Ob Auto, Motorrad, Rikscha oder Zweirad: ohne sie geht gar nichts, egal ob handbetrieben oder mit Echoeffekt. Der Verkehr, bzw. genauer gesagt das Verhalten im Verkehr sprengt alles bisher Dagewesene. Es vergehen keine 3 Sekunden bis sich erneut ein gellender hochfrequenter Ton durch die Ohrmuschel gen Hirn fräst. Ein Wunder das die Leute in diesem Frequenzbereich noch nicht taub sind… Verkehr und schier unglaublich unhygienischer Dreck sind leider auch die dominierendsten Elemente der Stadt, was Kalkutta manchmal zu einem kleinen Vorhof zur Hölle macht. Wäre da nicht das bescheidene Domizil einer kleinen Frau aus Albanien: Mutter Theresa »»

Asien verpackt in Glas und Stahl – Hongkong

7. Oktober 2009

Asien verpackt in Glas und Stahl – HongkongDie einstige britische Kronkolonie Hongkong ist auch gut zehn Jahre nach ihrem Retransfer an die Volksrepublik China immer noch eines der wichtigsten Zentren Asiens, und nicht nur in rein finanzieller Hinsicht. Egal ob unter marktwirtschaftlicher oder kommunistischer Flagge, wer am Victoria Harbour entlang flaniert wird den Boom den Hongkong erfuhr unschwer übersehen können. Inmitten der bunten glitzernden Welt aus Werbeschildern gibt es viel zu entdecken, dass sich in der schnelllebigen Welt des Glas-Stahl-Turbokapitalismus seine asiatische Authentizität erhielt. In erster Linie ist damit das Essen gemeint; die von Frische, Dampf und Meeresgetier geprägte kantonesische Küche »»

Spätsommer am Bosporus

6. September 2009

Spätsommer am BosporusNeben dem Frühjahr ist der Spätsommer eine der attraktivsten Reisezeiten um sich die Perle am Bosporus ein wenig genauer anschauen zu  können. Der Mix aus Sonne, Wolken und frischer Meeresbrise bildet eine ideale Grundlage das Istanbuler Lebensgefühl sowohl tagsüber als auch in der Nacht aufsaugen zu können und Nachschlag zu verlangen »»