More eternal than Rome – Damascus

April 8th, 2007

More eternal than Rome – DamascusDimashq, 3:00a.m., when arriving at the international airport of Damas, how Syrians lovingly call Damascus, I didn’t know that Syria’s capital will evolve to be the highlight of my Orient journey. »»

Krak des Chevaliers – Crusader Fortress in the Orient

Krak des Chevaliers – Crusader Fortress in the OrientTo both, Christians and Muslims, the Syrian Crusader castle Krak des Chevaliers, or in Arabic Qal’at al-Hosn (قلعة الحصن), is one of the most important remnants of the time of the Crusades. For the fortification’s occupant Krak des Chevaliers guaranteed control and access to one of the most important trade channels used since ancient times, leading from the coast of Syria to the inland. Even in the currently ongoing Syrian civil war this UNESCO world heritage still provides protection and strategic benefits, what puts the fortification at the risk of military demolition »»

Noria – Hama’s ancient giant Waterwheels

Noria – Hama’s ancient giant WaterwheelsWhen having a look at the city of Hama (حماة) from space, then one can quickly spot Orontes River winding itself like green belt through Hama’s gaunt and desert-like vicinity. Ancestors took advantage of the river’s life-giving character and built an irrigation system having archaic pump stations in the form of giant wooden water wheels, so called Norias. Even today those ancient survivors of all times spread its fairytale vibe all over »»

Aleppo – Turbulent, chaotic Soap Paradise

Aleppo – Turbulent, chaotic Soap ParadiseFrom time immemorial the north Syrian city of Aleppo (حلب), the former Aramaic Halab, is a centre of trading. Today this glorious history is still pretty much alive at the Medina, the old town, where the fairytale bazar and the mighty citadel tell stories from ancient times. Though the city can be quite a bustle, in particular when it comes to traffic. Then the only quiet place is a hammam, where you can indulge yourself in the famous hand-scooped Aleppo soap »»

The ancient Roman Ruins of Palmyra

The ancient Roman Ruins of PalmyraSome thousands of years ago already the mighty Romans appreciated the oasis of Palymra (تدمر), nowadays Syrian Tadmur, as a place amidst the desert to refuel mind, body and soul. They developed the oasis into becoming a city. When their empire collapsed they left us behind a place where the disappearing of an ancient power couldn’t be more alive. Palmyra’s unique historic charm easily matches the spirit of big wonders like the pyramids or rock-hewn city of Petra, in particular when the rising or setting desert sun stages the magnificent Tetrapylon »»

Noch ewiger als Rom – Damaskus

8. April 2007

Noch ewiger als Rom – DamaskusDimashq, 3 Uhr in der früh, die Frisur sitzt. Als ich am Damaszener Flughafen ankam, wusste ich noch nicht, dass Damaskus, von den Syrern liebevoll Damas genannt, das Highlight meiner Reise werden sollte »»

Krak des Chevaliers – Kreuzfahrerfestung im Morgenland

Krak des Chevaliers – Kreuzfahrerfestung im MorgenlandDie syrische Kreuzfahrer-Festung Krak des Chevaliers bzw. das arabische Qal’at al-Hosn (قلعة الحصن) ist sowohl aus christlicher als auch muslimischer Sicht das bedeutendste Überbleibsel der Kreuzritterzeit. Seinem Bewohner verschaffte diese Burg die Kontrolle über einen der seit dem Altertum wichtigsten Handelswege von der Küste ins Landesinnere und selbst heute, zur Zeit des syrischen Bürgerkriegs, bieten die Türme und dicken Mauern des Kraks einen sehr guten strategischen Vorteil sowie Schutz, was dieses UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe von Zerstörung bedroht »»

Noria – Hamas antike Wasserradgiganten

Noria – Hamas antike WasserradgigantenSchaut man sich die Gegend um Hama (حماة) aus dem Weltall an, dann zieht sich der Orontes wie ein grünes Band durch den kargen Boden. Die Leben spendende Eigenschaft dieses Flusses machten sich die Altvorderen zu Nutze und bauten Bewässerungsanlagen deren archaische Pumpstationen in Form riesiger hölzerner Wasserräder, Norias genannt, noch heute eine Stimmung verbreiten wie vor hunderten von Jahren »»

Aleppo – Lautes, chaotisches Seifenparadies

Aleppo – Lautes, chaotisches SeifenparadiesDas nordsyrische Aleppo (حلب) bzw. aramäische Ḥalab ist seit Menschengedenken ein Zentrum des Handels, wovon nicht nur der märchenhafte Basar zeugt sondern auch die eindrucksvolle Zitadelle, die schätzungsweise bereits seit der Bronzezeit als Ort der Verteidigung dient. Die ganze Stadt ist ein einziges großes geschäftiges Gewusel von Menschen, das einem Urlauber wenig Platz zum Entspannen lassen kann. Ruhe findet man aber hinter den dicken Mauern des Hamam, wo die berühmte handgeschöpfte Aleppo-Seife den Körper verwöhnt »»

Palmyras antike römische Ruinen

Palmyras antike römische RuinenBereits vor mehreren tausend Jahren schätzten die mächtigen Römer die Oase Palmyra (تدمر), das heutige syrische Tadmur, als eine Stätte zum Auftanken inmitten der Wüste. Sie bauten die Oase aus und hinterließen uns, als das Riesenreich kollabierte, einen Ort, dessen einzigartiger historischer Charme das Verschwinden des römischen Imperiums nicht hätte plakativer darstellen könnte. Jene Überbleibsel des einstigen Weltreiches können es locker mit großen Wundern wie den Pyramiden oder aber der Wüstenstadt Petra aufnehmen, besonders wenn die Wüstensonne beim beim Auf- und Untergehen den Star der Ruinen, das Tetrapylon in Szene setzt »»