Istanbul – Turkey’s hidden Capital

June 1st, 2012

Istanbul – Turkey’s hidden CapitalIt’s an open secret that I am taking a great fancy to Istanbul, the world’s only city being situated on two different continents. Since my first visit in 2007 many things have changed. For example now Hagia Sophia and Süleymaniye Mosque are shining in new splendour after having been restored for several years. The city’s biggest highlight is yet still the Bosporus and its mass of water appearing in a new colour every day anew. This time my stay also was long enough to have a look at the Little Hagia Sophia as well as at other mosques like the one in Eminönü or Kabatas »»

Late Summer at Bosporus

September 6th, 2009

Late Summer at BosporusBeside spring also late summer is one of the most attractive travel seasons to have a closer look at the Bosporus pearl, as the climatic mix of sun, clouds and fresh breezes coming from the Mediterranian sea is a perfect background to soak up Istanbul’s attitude towards life at daytime as well as at night like a sponge »»

The Bosporus Metropolis

April 7th, 2007

The Bosporus MetropolisWhat city better than ancient Byzantium and former Constantinople could have been a better starting point of an Arabia journey than the metropolis between Occident and Orient? Already approaching Atatürk airport was amazing when flying over Old Town, Golden Horn, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque at sunset. »»

Sultan Ahmet Mosque

Sultan Ahmet MosqueOriginating from Sultan Ahmet Mosque, Muezzin’s call to prayer spreads out over the city of Istanbul like a stream of fresh air. Majestically soaring towards the sky and sharpened like pencils the six minarets are framing the massive domes of Sultan Ahmet Mosque, which is also called Blue Mosque »»

Hagia Sophia

Hagia SophiaDirectly in the neighbourhood of the Sultan Ahmet Mosque you can find the Hagia Sophia. The former mother church of Byzantine empire is a part of Istanbul for a slightly longer time than Blue Mosque is; if even not to say for more than 1000 years »»

Bosporus

BosporusWhen it’s raining in Istanbul then its historic part Sultanahmet has a second, a drabber sight. Streams of cement-grey rain water break its way through the roads of Old Town while soaking the garbage thrown on the streets. Istanbul’s missing garbage cans caught not alone my eyes »»

Istanbul – Heimliche Hauptstadt der Türkei

Das ich an der weltweit einzigen auf zwei Kontinenten gelegenen Stadt einen Narren gefressen habe, ist ein offenes Geheimnis. In Istanbul hat sich seit meinem ersten Besuch in 2007 viel geändert. Zum Beispiel erstrahlen jetzt nach langjähriger Restauration sowohl die Hagia Sophia als auch die Süleymaniye Moschee in endgültig neuem Licht.… Weiterlesen

Spätsommer am Bosporus

Neben dem Frühjahr ist der Spätsommer eine der attraktivsten Reisezeiten um sich die Perle am Bosporus ein wenig genauer anschauen zu  können. Der Mix aus Sonne, Wolken und frischer Meeresbrise bildet eine ideale Grundlage das Istanbuler Lebensgefühl sowohl tagsüber als auch in der Nacht aufsaugen zu können und Nachschlag zu verlangen… Weiterlesen

Die Bosporus Metropole

Welche Stadt, wenn nicht das alte Byzanz und vormalige Konstantinopel hätte ein besserer Startpunkt einer Orientreise sein können, als die Metropole zwischen Okzident und Morgenland? Bereits der Anflug war klasse. Von Norden kommend schwebte die Maschine in bestem Sonnenuntergangslicht über das Goldene Horn, Hagia Sophia und die große Moschee gen Atatürk Airport.… Weiterlesen

Sultan Ahmet Moschee

Von der Sultan Ahmet Moschee aus verbreitet sich der Gebetsruf des Muezzins wie ein Schwall frischer Meeresluft über das Stadtgebiet von Istanbul. Majestätisch ragen die sechs wie Bleistifte angespitzten Minarette empor und Rahmen den gewaltigen Kuppelbau und ihren Innenhof ein… Weiterlesen

Hagia Sophia

Gleich in der Nachbarschaft der Sultan Ahmet Moschee findet man die Hagia Sophia. Die einstige Hauptkirche des byzantinischen Reiches jedoch steht schon ein wenig, um nicht zu sagen 1000 Jahre, länger an ihrem Platz, als die Blaue Moschee… Weiterlesen

Bosporus

Wenn es regnet in Istanbul, zeigt sich der historischere Sultanahmet Stadtteil von seiner tristeren Seite. Dann fließen Ströme zementgrauen Wassers die Kopfsteinpflasterstraßen hinunter und weichen den auf die Straßen gekippten Unrat auf. Nicht nur mir ist aufgefallen, dass Istanbul keine Papierkörbe hat… Weiterlesen