The Gannets of Cape Kidnappers and the Trans Tasman Flight

June 13th, 2014

The Gannets of Cape Kidnappers and the Trans Tasman FlightSeabirds are little miracles of evolution and New Zealand is home to a lot of them. At Muriwai Beach and the Cape Kidnappers in Hawke’s Bay I spent days with the second rarest gannet species in the world, the Australasian gannet, who is a master aviator and swift as an arrow hunter when it comes to fish. Their chicks are even tougher as when coming of age having no life and hunting experience they start a life-threatening adventure, the Trans-Tasman flight »»

Auckland’s architectural Side

May 20th, 2014

Auckland’s architectural SideActually Wellington is the capital, but when it comes to business and logistics then Greater Auckland pulls all strings and due to its international airport for tourists this metropolis is to boot the gateway number one to cross into New Zealand, hence for many people in the world this city makes the initial contact. Auckland’s down town is pretty much compact and an area of high housing density. When watched from far away distance by the help of a super tele lens, Auckland’s skyline and its facades offer a variety of interesting details, not to mention the spectacle when they reflect in rain puddles. Most dominating among those skyscrapers is the Sky Tower, from where you can see Auckland’s volcanic history »»

Fiji – Melting Pot of the South Seas

April 29th, 2014

Fiji – Melting Pot of the South SeasThe Fiji archipelago is the perfect melting pot of the South Seas. In a very charming way its 332 small as well as big islands unite the culture of Melanesia and Polynesia plus the influences of British colonial times and the Indians being brought into the country back then by the Britons. There are three places that exemplify this melange best: Levuka’s old town, which is Fiji’s old capital on Ovalau Island, as well as the country’s new capital bustling Suva and its market plus the Naag Mandir temple on Vanua Levu, a place being more Indian than India itself »»

New Caledonia – Kagu’s threatened Home

February 26th, 2014

New Caledonia – Kagu’s threatened HomeWhen something is really expensive then it costs “an arm and a leg”. Against that proverbial background the French overseas department New Caledonia is so expensive, that it costs even the double. The island can be a grave for your hard-earned money, in particular the south, where the capital Noumea slaps your face financially and with the typical arrogant French attitude you can meet in St. Tropez, Nice or Paris. Having after all a pretty much un-Pacific vibe, the island itself is a scenic gem though and worth to be explored as the coast meets high mountains, palms meet pine trees, dead forests meet dammed lakes but also the Kagu, a bird, unfortunately met the European dog, which cut down the bird population to ~700 animals. New Caledonia is a prime examples what maximally invasive western-arrogant course of actions means for fragile eco systems like the South Pacific and its people »»

Living at the Landing Strip – The Tuvalu Atoll

February 13th, 2014

Living at the Landing Strip – The Tuvalu AtollHaving a look at its actual landmass, Tuvalu is the second smallest nation in the world. Some of its islands are so tiny and narrow that you can literally spit from one side to another. The heart of Tuvalu is the Funafuti atoll being embraced in the east by the main island Fongafale. Airplanes can land there, on the highest spot of the nation, which is 5 metres above sea level. Along that airstrip the life of Funafuti atoll takes place and even if islands are generally pretty limited, Tuvalu gave me the most important moment of authentic Polynesian culture along with a dinner with the Prime Minister »»

Tonga – Where Time begins

February 7th, 2014

Tonga – Where Time beginsWhat does the Island Kingdom of Tonga have in common with a high voltage cable? Correct, both things are pretty much isolated. The 136 islands of Tonga are the only Polynesian nation that never got colonialized by the west. The archipelago being called “The Friendly Islands” lies at the 10.8km deep Tonga trench, a fault where the Pacific plates submerges the Australian, which is at the same time also the International Date Line; a place where you can meet the new year as being one of the very few first people on the planet. Since the white man hadn’t his finger in the Tongan pie many unique Polynesian cultural assets like f.e. the Ha’amonga Trilithon could survive. With pleasure locals take the “palangi” by the hand and show him the island’s highlights, such as the Blow Holes, Flying Foxes or the magic Anahulu Cave, a limestone cave having a pristine fresh water pool inviting to have a swim »»

Rock Giants and Caribbean Blue – The Mountains and Lakes of the Southern Alps

August 30th, 2013

Rock Giants and Caribbean Blue – The Mountains and Lakes of the Southern AlpsOne of New Zealand’s most impressive and stunning landscapes are the Southern Alps, a range of giant mountains and large lakes. Coming from Christchurch in the east, Lake Tekapo and its backyard mountain Mount John plus its astronomical observatory already give a first impression how wonderfully scenic the southern Kiwi land can look like. Further in the west Lake Pūkaki follows, having the mighty Mount Cook, NZ’s highest elevation, sitting enthroned on its northern lakeside. Literally around the corner is Lake Ohau with its picturesque sunsets. On its southern end you can indulge yourself meandering through the crags of the Clay Cliffs, a Bryce Canyon en miniature. The final stop is Lake Wakatipu and the worldwide known Queenstown, the southern hemisphere’s fun sport capital as well as the gate to the Routeburn track »»

Ice in the Rain Forest – Exploring the Fox Glacier

August 6th, 2013

Ice in the Rain Forest – Exploring the Fox GlacierNew Zealand’s West Coast region is unique. It is leader of the list of the rainiest regions on our planet and offers the possibility of getting in very close touch with the remarkable combination of a glacier gliding down amidst an environment of alpine mountains having rain forests on its slopes. To boot New Zealand has even two of those places, the Franz Josef Glacier as well as the Fox Glacier. Latter one originates from the western snow field surrounding Mount Tasman and I had an excursion leading from the glacier’s terminus up to the area where dramatic crevices and sharp edged ice shapes take over control; a place that already demanded the one or another human life »»

Mount Ruapehu – Above the Clouds of North New Zealand

July 11th, 2013

Mount Ruapehu – Above the Clouds of North New ZealandMount Ruapehu marks the southern end of the Taupo volcanic zone. Together with stunning Tongariro national park it stands for a region that shapes and defines the character of New Zealand’s north island. With an elevation of impressive 2797 metres it is also North New Zealand’s lighthouse, its highest spot; a place easily seen from the far away. Its crater is jagged, dramatic but also accommodates a wonderful crater lake. Volcanically seen Ruapehu is everything but dormant and its eruptions mostly occur without an advance warning. To boot it’s known for ist hot volcanic avalanches, so called lahars »»

Abel Tasman National Park – Seal Puppy Playground with Dutch Roots

July 1st, 2013

Abel Tasman National Park – Seal Puppy Playground with Dutch RootsWhen it comes to discovering New Zealand there is no question that James Cook played the most important role, but it was the sailor Abel Tasman from Dutch East India Company who spotted the archipelago being located in South Pacific Ocean as first European ever and even some 100 years earlier than the Brit did. For eternity Tasman’s surname now captions an island, a sea but also New Zealand’s smallest national park. The latter is located on the north coast of the South Island and is a Garden of Eden for all things called flora and fauna. This pearl among Kiwi Land’s refugiums gets completed by its immediate vicinity, the Cape Farewell and the beaches of the Golden Bay. Each of those places belong to the sites a New Zealand visitor should have seen with one’s own eyes »»

Die Tölpel vom Cape Kidnappers und der Trans-Tasmanische Flug

13. Juni 2014

Die Tölpel vom Cape Kidnappers und der Trans-Tasmanische FlugSeevögel sind kleine Wunderwerke der Evolution und Neuseeland beheimatet viele von Ihnen, unter anderem die zweitseltenste Tölpelart, den australasischen Tölpel. Dieser kleine gefiederte Kerl ist voll und ganz auf seinen Lebensraum angepasst, ein pfeilschneller Jäger und exzellenter Segelflieger. Am Muriwai Beach und am Cape Kidnappers nistet er beobachtbar. In der Hawke’s Bay verbrachte ich zwei Tage mit den Meisterfliegern, deren Erwachsenwerden mit einem lebensbedrohlichen Abenteuer startet, dem Trans-Tasmanischen Flug »»

Aucklands architektonische Seite

20. Mai 2014

Aucklands architektonische SeiteEigentlich ist Wellington die Hauptstadt, die Fäden logistischer wie wirtschaftlicher Natur aber laufen im Ballungsgebiet Auckland zusammen und vor allem für Touristen ist die nördliche Metropole des internationalen Flughafens wegen schlichtweg das Einfallstor Nummer eins und damit der Erstkontakt mit dem fernen Neuseeland. Down Town, das Stadtzentrum ist kompakt bebaut; von weitem, mit dem Supertele betrachtet, fördern die Fassaden aber interessante Details zu Tage. Nicht zu vergessen die Spiegelungen der Skyline bei Regen und die Aussicht vom Sky Tower aus, die sogar Aucklands vulkanische Historie enthüllt »»

Fidschi – Schmelztiegel der Südsee

29. April 2014

Fidschi – Schmelztiegel der SüdseeDer Fidschi-Archipel ist der perfekte Schmelztiegel der Südsee. Seine 332 kleinen wie großen Inseln vereinen unglaublich charmant die Kultur Melanesiens und Polynesiens. Hinzu kommen koloniale Charakterzüge und natürlich auch die Einflüsse der von den Briten sesshaft gemachten Inder. An drei Orten wird diese Melange besonders interessant: in Levukas Altstadt, dem alten Machtzentrum auf der Insel Ovalau, sowie auf dem Markt von Suva, der neuen Hauptstadt Fidschis und auf Vanua Levu, der nördlichen großen Fidschi-Insel, wo der Naag Mandir, der Schlangentempel, indischer ist als Indien selbst »»

Neukaledonien – Das bedrohte Reich des Kagu

26. Februar 2014

Neukaledonien – Das bedrohte Reich des KaguWenn etwas richtig teuer ist, dann kostet es die Briten verbal „an arm and a leg“; einen Arm und ein Bein. Das französische Überseedepartment Neukaledonien ist preislich derart intensiv, dass es sprichwörtlich gesehen sogar den doppelten Einsatz jener Körperteile fordert, denn die Insel kann ein Geldgrab per excellence sein. Besonders im Süden, wo einem die Hauptstadt Noumea und die typisch französische Arroganz (die Stimmung steht St. Tropez oder Nizza in nichts nach) ins Gesicht schlagen, erfolgt der Griff ins Portemonnaie. Allesamt Dinge, die ziemlich untypisch für den Südpazifik sind. Dennoch ist die Insel landschaftlich eine Perle und äußerst sehenswert. Küsten treffen auf hohe Berge, Palmen auf Nadelbäume, tote Wälder auf Stauseen und leider traf auch der Kagu auf den von Hund, was die Existenz des Vogels auf ca. 700 Exemplare schrumpfen lies. Neukaledonien ist ein Paradebeispiel des maximalinvasiven Eingriffs westlicher Arroganz in Öko- und Gesellschaftssysteme »»

Leben entlang der Landebahn – Das Tuvalu Atoll

13. Februar 2014

Leben entlang der Landebahn – Das Tuvalu AtollDie eigentliche eigene Landmasse betrachtet, ist Tuvalu der zweitkleinste Staat der Welt. Manche seiner Eilande sind so schmal, dass man förmlich von der einen zur anderen Seite spucken kann. Das Herz des Inselstaates ist das Funafuti Atoll, das östlich von der Hauptinsel Fongafale umschlossen wird. Dort kann gelandet werden, auf dem höchsten Punkt des Landes, auf 5 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel. Entlang jener Landebahn spielt sich das Leben ab und bescherte mir den bis dato wichtigsten Moment authentisch gelebter polynesischer Kultur, nebst Abendessen mit dem Premierminister »»

Tonga – Wo die Zeit beginnt

7. Februar 2014

Tonga – Wo die Zeit beginntWas haben das Inselreich Tongas und ein 20 Kilovolt-Elektrokabel gemeinsam? Richtig, beides ist spannend und beachtlich isoliert, denn das 136 Eilande umfassende Königreich ist die einzige polynesische Inselgruppe, die vom Westen nie kolonialisiert wurde. Der früher auf den Namen „Freundschaftsinseln“ hörende Archipel liegt am bis zu 10,8 km tiefen Tongagraben; einer Verwerfung, wo sich die pazifische unter die australische Platte schiebt und nahe dem 180. Längengrad – der internationalen Datumsgrenze – wo man als einer der Ersten auf dem Planeten das neue Jahr begrüßen kann. Da der weiße Mann dort nur wenig seine Finger im Spiel hatte, konnten einzigartige polynesische Kulturgüter wie z.B. der Ha’amonga Trilith überleben. Gern nehmen die Einwohner den „palangi“ an die Hand und zeigen ihm Highlights wie die Blow Holes, Flughunde oder die magische Anahulu Cave, einer Tropfsteinhöhle mit einem glasklaren kleinen Süßwassersee zum Baden »»

Felsriesen und karibisches Blau – Die Berge und Seen der südlichen Alpen

30. August 2013

Felsriesen und karibisches Blau – Die Berge und Seen der südlichen AlpenEine der prägendsten und spektakulärsten Landschaften Neuseelands sind die südlichen Alpen mit ihren Bergriesen und gewaltigen Bergseen. Aus dem Osten von Christchurch kommend, geben bereits der Lake Tekapo und sein Hausberg Mount John nebst Sternwarte einen Vorgeschmack wie eindrucksvoll die Landschaft der Südinsel werden kann. Weiter im Westen folgt der Lake Pūkaki an dessen nördlichem Ende Neuseelands höchster Berg, der Mount Cook thront und gleich „nebenan“ ist der malerische Lake Ohau mit seinen Sonnenuntergängen zu finden, an dessen Südende sich die Clay Cliffs, eine Art Bryce Canyon en miniature erheben. Den Abschluss bilden der Lake Wakatipu und das weltweit bekannte Queenstown, die Funsport-Hauptstadt der Südhalbkugel und Tor zum Routeburn Track »»

Eismasse im Regenwald – Unterwegs auf dem Fox Gletscher

6. August 2013

Eismasse im Regenwald – Unterwegs auf dem Fox GletscherDie Westküste Neuseelands ist einzigartig. Sie ist eines der regenreichsten Gebiete der Erde und nur einige wenige Orte auf dieser Welt vermögen es die Kombination eines Gletschers nebst Regenwald mit Meeresnähe treffen. In Neuseeland gibt es sogar zwei derartige Orte, den Franz Josef Gletscher und den meinerseits besuchten Fox Gletscher, der dem westlichen Massiv des Mount Tasman entspringt. Vom Fuß des Gletschers ging es hinauf bis zu den berüchtigten dramatischen Spalten in denen schon so mancher Bergsteiger auf Nimmerwiedersehen verschwand »»

Mount Ruapehu – Über den Wolken Nordneuseelands

11. Juli 2013

Mount Ruapehu – Über den Wolken NordneuseelandsDer Mount Ruapehu bildet das südliche Ende der Taupo Vulkanzone und des Tongariro Nationalparks, eine Region, die die neuseeländische Nordinsel nicht nur prägt, sondern fast schon definiert. Mit stattlichen 2797 Metern ist er gleichzeitig der Leuchtturm, sprich die höchste Erhebung der Nordinsel, die man mühelos von weitem ausmachen kann. Sein Krater ist zerfurcht, beherbergt einen wunderschönen Kratersee und vulkanisch ist er alles anderes als erloschen. Seine Ausbrüche kommen ohne Vorwarnung und äußern sich meist in heißen vulkanischen Schlammlawinen, so genannten Laharen »»

Abel Tasman Nationalpark – Der Seelöwenspielsplatz mit holländischen Wurzeln

1. Juli 2013

Abel Tasman Nationalpark – Der Seelöwenspielsplatz mit holländischen WurzelnJames Cook spielte bei der Erkundung Neuseelands unzweifelhaft die bedeutendste Rolle für uns Angehörige der westlichen Zivilisation, aber es war Abel Tasman von der holländischen Ostindien-Kompanie der bereits gute 100 Jahre zuvor das neuseeländische Festland als erster Europäer entdeckte und dessen Name in alle Ewigkeit eine Insel, ein Meer und eben auch Neuseelands kleinsten Nationalpark zieren. Letzterer Park ist an der Nordküste der neuseeländischen Südinsel zu Hause und sowohl landschaftlich als auch von der Tierwelt her ein buchstäblicher Garten Eden. Abgerundet wird dieses Paradies en miniature durch seine unmittelbare Nachbarschaft, das Cape Farewell und die Strände der Golden Bay, welche allesamt zu den Orten gehören die man als Neuseeland-Besucher unbedingt gesehen haben sollte »»