Sunda – Strait at the Fire Mountain

January 2nd, 2012

Sunda – Strait at the Fire MountainWhen magma, which is usually entirely covered by the Earth’s mantle, rises up to the surface and gets in direct contact with water, then experts are only speaking soberly about phreatomagmatic eruptions but the rest of the world gets confronted with an all too often catastrophic explosive power being that immense like a couple of Hiroshima nukes. Back in 1883 such an epic volcanic eruption happened in Indonesia, between Java and Sumatra Islands. More than 20km3 of rocks and ash got tossed into the air followed by an up to 40m high Tsunami that erased all villages framing the Sunda Strait. The old volcano got almost vaporised but its offspring is already waiting in the wings, the Anak Krakatoa; a place that gets reconquered by life under as well as over the waterline »»

Tourist Battle at the Tengger Caldera

April 30th, 2009

Tourist Battle at the Tengger CalderaThe Bromo-Tengger-Semeru National Park is one of Indonesia’s major sights and destination of not a few busses. You can literally start your travel to the Bromo from every of the country’s bigger cities. Writing that, the main reason why the Tengger caldera isn’t an unhurried place already got spoken out. It is really hard to escape from the touristic bustle and at the latest the plastic bag flooded crater bowl of the Bromo will put you off… The most frequented spot is at the same time the highest peak around: Gunung Penanjakan. From there every morning about 200-300 tourists try to watch the magic colourful sunrise. However, doing so can also lead into quite ugly situations… »»

The yellow Hell of the Ijen and the Soldiers of Sulphur

The yellow Hell of the Ijen and the Soldiers of SulphurFor many people coming to terms with a globalized everyday life became quite an essential daily task. In the East of the Indonesian island of Java, at the Ijen volcano (Kawah Ijen) to be more precise, courageous men are ruining their health day by day. To make their living, everyone literally transforms into a hell of a guy, when wresting sulphur, the yellow gold, from the fumaroles in a height of 2400 meters. And also for me visiting the Kawah Ijen and its acid lake should mean a test of mettle »»

From Starting in Ende to Ending in Jakarta – Travelling the Sunda Islands

From Starting in Ende to Ending in Jakarta – Travelling the Sunda IslandsThe town of Ende sounds like the final of a trip, but can also be quite a good start for travelling the Indonesian Sunda Islands eastwards, all the way to Jakarta. On the way to Indonesia’s capital you’ll surely experience plenty of possibilities to get in touch with the most diverse people plus look behind the scenes of illustrious names like Bali or Komodo. Indonesia, that also stands for volcanoes, earth quakes and tsunamis. At first glance that doesn’t sound all too well, but who knows, maybe the creative hand of volcanoes’ was active again when giving birth to unique things of culture like artful batik, huge religious temples or filigree old Indonesian shadow puppetry »»

The Crater Lakes of Mount Kelimutu

The Crater Lakes of Mount KelimutuThe multi-coloured crater lakes of the Kelimutu volcano are truly the biggest touristic highlights the Indonesian island of Flores has on offer. To get there, needs some talent for spontaneity, especially in low season. It doesn’t matter where you start your travel, if in Ende, Maumere or Moni, travellers are most welcome; helping them is a matter of importance for the locals »»

Sunda, die Straße am Feuerberg

2. Januar 2012

Sunda, die Straße am FeuerbergWenn das normalerweise vom Erdmantel verhüllte Magma zu Tage tritt und in direkten Kontakt mit Wasser kommt, dann spricht der Experte lediglich leicht unterkühlt von einer phreatomagmatischen Eruption, die uns bekannte Welt hingegen wird mit einer Explosivkraft konfrontiert, die mehrere hundert Hiroshima-Bomben stark sein kann. Im Jahre 1883 ereignete sich ein derartiger Vulkanausbruch epischen Ausmaßes. Über 20km3 Gestein und Asche wurden in bis zu 25km die Höhe katapultiert und ein bis zu 40 Meter hohen Tsunami fegte die Dörfer auf den umliegenden Inseln von der Landkarte. Ort dieser Katastrophe war das indonesische Archipel, genauer gesagt die Sunda-Straße zwischen Sumatra und Java, wo heute bereits der Nachfahre des einst explodierten Feuerbergs in den Startlöchern steht und regelmäßig neue Ausbrüche in den Himmel schickt: Der Anak Krakatau, an den das Leben nach und nach zurückkehrt, vor allem unter Wasser »»

Touristenschlacht an der Tengger Caldera

30. April 2009

Touristenschlacht an der Tengger CalderaDer Bromo-Tengger-Semeru Nationalpark wird von vielen Bussen und Städten aus angefahren. Womit auch schon einer der Hauptgründe genannt wäre, warum es in und an der Caldera alles andere als beschaulich zugeht. Es ist schwer dem touristischen Trubel zu entfliehen, und spätestens die mit Plastiktüten vollgemüllte Kraterschüssel des Bromo gibt einem den Rest… Der frequentierteste Punkt ist zugleich der höchste: vom 2770m hohen Gunung Penanjakan schauen sich Morgen für Morgen gut 200-300 Touristen den magischen, farbenreichen Sonnenaufgang an. Dabei kann es leider zu hässlichen Szenen kommen… »»

Die gelbe Hölle des Ijen und die Soldaten des Schwefels

Die gelbe Hölle des Ijen und die Soldaten des SchwefelsDen globalisierten Alltag zu bewältigen ist für viele Menschen zu einer überlebenswichtigen Aufgabe avanciert. Im Osten der indonesischen Insel Java, genauer gesagt im Krater des Ijen Vulkans (Kawah Ijen), ruinieren wagemutige Teufelskerle Tag für Tag ihre Gesundheit, um Unmengen hochreinen Schwefels und den damit verbundenen monetären Lebensunterhalt aus dem Krater zu fördern. In fast 2400m Höhe wird dem Vulkan das gelbe Gold abgerungen und auch für mich sollte der Besuch der Kawah Ijen mit ihrem schillernden Säuresee eine Bewährungsprobe bereithalten »»

Vom Anfang in Ende zum Ende in Jakarta – Eine Reise auf den Sunda-Inseln

Vom Anfang in Ende zum Ende in Jakarta – Eine Reise auf den Sunda-InselnDas Städtchen namens Ende kann zugleich auch der Anfang einer Reise sein, zum Beispiel über die indonesischen Sunda-Inseln gen Osten Richtung Jakarta. Auf dem Weg zur Hauptstadt Indonesiens kommt man garantiert mit den unterschiedlichsten Menschen in Kontakt und kann hinter die Kulissen derart klangvoller Namen wie Bali oder Komodo blicken. Indonesien, das steht auch stellvertretend für Vulkane, Erdbeben und Tsunamis. Im Augenblick klingt das irgendwie nach einem wenig einladenden Landstrich, aber wer weiß, nachher hatten die Vulkane sogar ihre schöpferischen Hände mit im Spiel, als sich einzigartige Hochkulturen wie kunstvolle Batik, religiöse Großtempel und das filigrane alt-indonesische Schattentheater entwickelten »»

Die Kraterseen des Kelimutu

Die Kraterseen des KelimutuDie verschiedenfarbigen Kraterseen des Kelimutu Vulkans sind das wohl größte touristische Highlight der indonesischen Insel Flores. Um dorthin zu gelangen, ist vor allem in der Nebensaison ein wenig Improvisationstalent gefragt. Egal ob man seinen Weg in Ende, Maumere oder Moni startet, Fremde sind auf Flores mehr als gern gesehen; ihnen zu helfen ist Herzenssache »»