John Digweed & Hernan Cattaneo @ Arena Club Berlin

December 5th, 2011

John Digweed & Hernan Cattaneo @ Arena Club BerlinGrandmaster John Digweed is a rarely seen guest in one of the world‘s best cities for clubbing and fellow Argentinian top DJ Hernan Cattaneo has seen Berlin only from an airplane when flying over it. Hence reading both names plus Trentemøller and Tiefschwarz on one flyer for a party taking place in Berlin let one look first for a hidden camera. However, when December began it became more and more clear that the Kuduro Live Sessions are definitely no end-of-year joke and that with the lovely Arena Club one of Berlin’s most pleasant clubs had been chosen to be the playground »»

Lost in Berlin’s BerMuDa triangle

November 6th, 2010

Lost in Berlin’s BerMuDa triangleWhen hearing a Berliner speaking of BerMuDa then against all things called geography knowledge the speech is still about the Spree River-based techno Eldorado and not about the archipelago close to North America. In wet and cold November palms are not swaying in the wind, hence climatically seen perfect conditions to have a big indoor bash in Tempelhof’s old airplane hangars. On the occasion of the Berlin Music Days the former airport and one of Europe’s largest buildings was chosen to be the stage of Fly BerMuDa, a big room techno festival featuring a multiplicity of internationally known electronic music acts »»

Audioriver weekender 2010 – When all dikes are breaching…

August 8th, 2010

Audioriver weekender 2010 – When all dikes are breaching…Whether in terms of high water or emotions, thus far 2010 was a literally overflowing year for the Polish people. Fortunately the big flood has gone, the dikes framing Vistula River aren’t huffing and puffing anymore and also the beavers can breathe a sigh of relief, as this time they surely can’t be blamed for the waves (of visitors) flooding the area around Płock. Fifth edition of Audioriver Festival saw two novelties: on the one hand, Miami’s WMC is saying Hello, a convention for music industry got involved, while on the other hand with Richie Hawtin and Hybrid two protagonists already performing in the previous years could have been won to play a second time. Active support came from top notch artists like Laurent Garnier, Way Out West, The Deep Modern Left Quartet or DJs like Karotte, Christian Smith and many others. »»

Digweed’s weekend trip to Berlin

February 18th, 2010

Digweed’s weekend trip to BerlinYou really have to dig out the big grey tomes of Berlin’s collective clubbing memory to get to know when John Digweed was crossing the doorstep of Germany’s capital last time. To many people there is only his appearance along Sasha (on the occasion of the Nothern Exposure tour) coming to mind, which took place about 12 years ago. After such a long time his current Bedrock Eleven tour brought the British top DJ finally to Berlin again, to delight the audience of the Weekend club »»

Border Community at Berlin’s WMF

November 14th, 2009

Border Community at Berlin’s WMFJames Holden and his label Border Community need no introduction anymore. By now both are representing two very own standards which are unique in the world of electronic music, as over the years both were developing their styles further without paying too much attention to fugacious trends or societal pressure. To add some spice to his gig at Berlin’s WMF club, James put long-term companion Nathan Fake in charge to make our ears buzzing »»

John Digweed digging in the weeds of Poznan

October 24th, 2009

John Digweed digging in the weeds of PoznanSpeaking about Polish nightlife, then at the moment Poznan-based SQ club is definitely one of Poland’s hottest addresses. For about 4 years now the higher DJ nobilities are streaming in and out of Poznan’s clubbing resource and to celebrate its fourth year of existence quite a music delicacy had been obliged to play: John Digweed. Actively supported by SQ resident Hagal and Warsaw-based Peres, the Brit splashed out a four-hour killer set. »»

Strictly net – Berlin’s Netaudio Festival 2009

October 11th, 2009

Strictly net – Berlin’s Netaudio Festival 2009Producers, products, charts and consumers, this is a world the Netaudio movement doesn’t want to subject themselves to. Trust and attention are the keywords on their banner. Also they want to bring dignity back into the music business by eliminating the financial aspect as the roots of engagement. Driven by that philosophy and from a 150 candidates an cutting-edge festival of worldwide attention emerged. And no other underground club could have been a better venue than Berlin’s Maria am Ufer »»

Eco-Clubbing with Climate Effects

September 25th, 2009

Eco-Clubbing with Climate EffectsIf there’s yet another farmer-fondled French goose passing the counter somewhere near Berlin’s Kollwitzplatz and ending up in a New-Berliner’s shopping cart right next to widely travelled garlic from China and morning tea picked at full moon, then it is surely one of the more extreme appearances of eco-delusions, or better to say organic food delusions. Recently held Energy Union night at Berlin’s WMF club however attested that the very same impulse is even able to raise much more sensitive topics, while connecting serious issues, unusual locations and top acts like Coldcut live, Monolake live and the djing Modeselektor boys »»

Audioriver Festival 2009 – From Lake Kalksee to Vistula river

August 8th, 2009

Audioriver Festival 2009 – From Lake Kalksee to Vistula riverBeside already known constants like Plock’s homey Old Town, beautiful Vistula river and the great Polish crowd, the fourth festival edition also had some innovations such as the new day programme on offer. Audioriver’s wisely chosen line-up consolidated its position among Europe’s festival heavyweights, as once again masters of timeless electronic music had been committed to play the open-air party being held some 100km north-western of Warsaw, starting with Richie Hawtin and Ulrich Schnauss, to Gui Boratto and James Holden. Even the Moderat boys didn’t miss their chance to bang their rusty (tent) nails into Polish ground for the first time and to be part of a musical midsummer night’s dream in picturesque Plock »»

Watergate relocated from Spree to Maas river!

July 3rd, 2009

Watergate relocated from Spree to Maas river!The DJ sets Timo Maas played in Berlin are all through and through legendary… On the occasion of the Connaisseur label night at the Watergate club, Bückeburg’s music citizen number one finally came again to Berlin, to deliver us a musical thunderstorm in hot July »»

John Digweed & Hernan Cattaneo @ Arena Club Berlin

5. Dezember 2011

John Digweed & Hernan Cattaneo @ Arena Club BerlinGroßmeister John Digweed ist ein seltener Gast in unseren Gefilden und der immer gut gelaunte Hernan Cattaneo ist an der deutschen Hauptstadt bis dato wenn dann höchstens vorbei geflogen. Das Lesen beider Namen nebst Trentemøller und Tiefschwarz auf einem Flyer mit Austragungsort Berlin ließ daher im ersten Moment eher nach der versteckten Kamera suchen denn das Herz höher schlagen. Je weiter der November voran schritt, desto stärker verdichteten sich die Zeichen, dass die Kuduro Live Sessions alles andere als ein Dezemberscherz sind und mit dem Arena Club einer der angenehmsten Berliner Spielplätze für elektronische Klänge  gewählt wurde »»

Verschollen im Tempelhofer BerMuDa-Dreieck

6. November 2010

Verschollen im Tempelhofer BerMuDa-DreieckNimmt der Berliner das Wörtchen BerMuDa in den Mund, dann ist allen Geographiekenntnissen zum Trotz meist immer noch das Eldorado an der Spree denn der Atlantik kurz vor Amerika gemeint. Im naßkalten November wiegen sich alles andere als Palmen im Wind, was klimatisch gesehen zwar kein wirkliches Highlight aber die beste Ausgangsposition ist, um es in den vier Wänden der Tempelhofer Flugzeughangare samt Cocktail mit kleinem Sonnenschirmchen ordentlich krachen zu lassen. Anlass waren die Berlin Music Days, deren Abschluss mit einem Indoor-Festival und einer Vielzahl international bekannter Acts der elektronischen Musik begangen wurde »»

Das Audioriver Wochenende 2010 – Wenn alle Dämme brechen…

8. August 2010

Das Audioriver Wochenende 2010 – Wenn alle Dämme brechen…Ob nun in Sachen Wasser oder Emotionen, für unsere östlichen Nachbarn war 2010 bis dato ein buchstäblich überschwappendes Jahr. Glücklicherweise ist das ganz große Wasser gewichen, die Deiche an der Weichsel machen keine dicken Backen mehr und auch die Biber können aufatmen, denn für die (Besucher-) Wellen, die die Gegend um das Städtchen Płock fluteten, können sie wohl schlecht verantwortlich gemacht werden. Das fünfte Audioriver Festival sah zwei Nova: zum einen, Miamis WMC lässt grüssen, das Einbeziehen der Musikindustrie, zum anderen entzückten mit Richie Hawtin und Hybrid zwei bereits in den Vorjahren gebuchte Protagonisten die internationale Crowd ein zweites Mal. Tatkräftige Unterstützung gab es seitens Laurent Garnier, Way Out West, The Deep Modern Left Quartet oder DJs wie Karotte, Christian Smith und vielen anderen. »»

Mit John ins Weekendfeeling

18. Februar 2010

Mit John ins WeekendfeelingMan muss schon die ganz alten dicken Wälzer des kollektiven Berliner Clubbinggedächtnis aus dem Wandschrank holen, um recherchieren zu können, wann John Digweed nun genau das letzte Mal die Türschwelle der deutschen Hauptstadt überschritt und vielen fällt da nur der Stopp der Nothern Exposure Tour vor gut 12 Jahren ein. Seine aktuelle Bedrock Eleven Tour jedenfalls bescherte der Technometropole Berlin das Vergnügen den britischen Top DJ seit langer Zeit mal wieder live vor der eigenen Haustür erleben zu können, im Weekend Club und mit tatkräftiger Unterstützung von Zander VT »»

Border Community im Berliner WMF

14. November 2009

Border Community im Berliner WMFJames Holden und sein Label Border Community braucht man nicht mehr vorzustellen. Beide haben Maßstäbe gesetzt sowie ihre eigenen Stile ungeachtet von kurzlebigen Trends oder gesellschaftlichem Druck konsequent weiterentwickelt und haben die elektronische Musik so um eine ganz eigene Stilrichtung bereichert. Als Verstärkung für seinen Auftritt holte er sich Weggefährte Nathan Fake mit ins Boot der die Gehörgänge der Crowd im gut gefüllten Berliner WMF gehörig zum flattern brachte »»

John Digweed pflügt Poznan um

24. Oktober 2009

John Digweed pflügt Poznan umDer in Poznan beheimatete SQ Club ist definitiv eine der heißesten Adressen des polnischen Nachtlebens. Seit nunmehr 4 Jahren geben sich dort die DJ-Größen die Klinke in die Hand und zum vierten Geburtstag stand mit John Digweed ein ganz besonderes Schmankerl auf dem Programm. Tatkräftig vom SQ Resident-DJ Hagal und dem Warschauer Peres unterstützt, ließ sich der Brite nicht lumpen und lieferte ein vierstündiges Monster-Set ab. »»

Ins Netz gegangen – Das Netaudio Festival 2009

11. Oktober 2009

Ins Netz gegangen – Das Netaudio Festival 2009Abseits von Produzenten, Charts, Produkten und Konsumenten hat sich eine Welt etabliert, die sich nicht den Tendenzen, Sorgen und Nöten des Musikmarktes unterwirft. Die Netaudio Bewegung hat sich auf die Fahne geschrieben der Musikszene ihre Würde wiederzugeben und statt finanzieller Interessen wieder menschliche Werte wie Vertrauen, Aufmerksamkeit und Zusammenarbeit zum Zuge kommen zu lassen. Aus jener Philosophie und über 150 Bewerbern entstand ein internationales Festival, dass ganz nah am urbanen Pulsschlag der Zeit und natürlich in Berlin stattfand, in einem der undergroundigsten Clubs der Stadt: der Maria am Ufer »»

Öko-Clubbing mit Klimaschutzeffekt

25. September 2009

Öko-Clubbing mit KlimaschutzeffektWenn irgendwo am Kollwitzplatz mal wieder eine handgestreichelte französische Gans über den Ladentisch geht und neben dem bei Vollmond gepflückten Frühstückstee, sowie weitgereistem Knoblauch aus China im Einkaufskorb des zugezogenen Baden-Würtembergers landet, dann ist das sicherlich eine der extremeren Erscheinungsformen des Öko-, genauergesagt Bio-Wahns. Das die gleiche Triebkraft allerdings auch sensible Themen wie den Klimawandel an ungewöhnlichen Orten zur Sprache bringen kann, bewies kürzlich die Energy Union Nacht im Berliner Club WMF, das gleichzeitig auch Austragungsort der vierten Allianz Party mit Top Acts wie Coldcut live, Monolake live und den auflegenden Modeselektor Jungs war »»

Audioriver Festival 2009 – Vom Kalksee an die Weichsel

8. August 2009

Audioriver Festival 2009 – Vom Kalksee an die WeichselPack die Badehose ein, nimm Dein kleines Schwesterlein und dann nüscht wie raus zur Weichsel… Mit seiner vierten Ausgabe schickt sich das Audioriver Festival an ähnlich zeitlos zu werden, wie Connie Froboess’ Lied in Sachen Berliner Badespass. Das fein ausziselierte Line-Up festigte erneut das Standing in der Riege der europäischen Open Airs, versammelte sich doch eine ganze Reihe illustrer, für Qualität stehende Namen, beginnend bei Richie Hawtin über Ulrich Schnauss und Gui Boratto bis hin zu James Holden. Selbst die Jungs von Moderat ließen es sich nicht nehmen, ihre rostigen (Zelt-) Nägel erstmals in den polnischen Boden zu schlagen, um dem pittoresken Plock einen musikalischen Sommernachtstraum zu bescheren »»

Watergate von der Spree an die Maas umgezogen

3. Juli 2009

Watergate von der Spree an die Maas umgezogenDie in Berlin dargebrachten DJ-Sets des Herrn Maas sind fürwahr allesamt legendär… Im Rahmen der Connaisseur Nacht im Berliner Watergate, betrat der gebürtige Bückeburger endlich mal wieder die Bretter der Berliner Bühne, um ein alles andere als gebücktes DJ-Set abzuliefern »»