The Gannets of Cape Kidnappers and the Trans Tasman Flight

June 13th, 2014

The Gannets of Cape Kidnappers and the Trans Tasman FlightSeabirds are little miracles of evolution and New Zealand is home to a lot of them. At Muriwai Beach and the Cape Kidnappers in Hawke’s Bay I spent days with the second rarest gannet species in the world, the Australasian gannet, who is a master aviator and swift as an arrow hunter when it comes to fish. Their chicks are even tougher as when coming of age having no life and hunting experience they start a life-threatening adventure, the Trans-Tasman flight »»

Living at the Landing Strip – The Tuvalu Atoll

February 13th, 2014

Living at the Landing Strip – The Tuvalu AtollHaving a look at its actual landmass, Tuvalu is the second smallest nation in the world. Some of its islands are so tiny and narrow that you can literally spit from one side to another. The heart of Tuvalu is the Funafuti atoll being embraced in the east by the main island Fongafale. Airplanes can land there, on the highest spot of the nation, which is 5 metres above sea level. Along that airstrip the life of Funafuti atoll takes place and even if islands are generally pretty limited, Tuvalu gave me the most important moment of authentic Polynesian culture along with a dinner with the Prime Minister »»

Tonga – Where Time begins

February 7th, 2014

Tonga – Where Time beginsWhat does the Island Kingdom of Tonga have in common with a high voltage cable? Correct, both things are pretty much isolated. The 136 islands of Tonga are the only Polynesian nation that never got colonialized by the west. The archipelago being called “The Friendly Islands” lies at the 10.8km deep Tonga trench, a fault where the Pacific plates submerges the Australian, which is at the same time also the International Date Line; a place where you can meet the new year as being one of the very few first people on the planet. Since the white man hadn’t his finger in the Tongan pie many unique Polynesian cultural assets like f.e. the Ha’amonga Trilithon could survive. With pleasure locals take the “palangi” by the hand and show him the island’s highlights, such as the Blow Holes, Flying Foxes or the magic Anahulu Cave, a limestone cave having a pristine fresh water pool inviting to have a swim »»

Abel Tasman National Park – Seal Puppy Playground with Dutch Roots

July 1st, 2013

Abel Tasman National Park – Seal Puppy Playground with Dutch RootsWhen it comes to discovering New Zealand there is no question that James Cook played the most important role, but it was the sailor Abel Tasman from Dutch East India Company who spotted the archipelago being located in South Pacific Ocean as first European ever and even some 100 years earlier than the Brit did. For eternity Tasman’s surname now captions an island, a sea but also New Zealand’s smallest national park. The latter is located on the north coast of the South Island and is a Garden of Eden for all things called flora and fauna. This pearl among Kiwi Land’s refugiums gets completed by its immediate vicinity, the Cape Farewell and the beaches of the Golden Bay. Each of those places belong to the sites a New Zealand visitor should have seen with one’s own eyes »»

Doubtful Sound – Where bold Cliffs meet bold Albatrosses

April 29th, 2013

Doubtful Sound – Where bold Cliffs meet bold AlbatrossesThe Doubtful Sound at the south island’s west coast is one of the large impressive fjords New Zealand has on offer. Unlike Milford Sound, that is usually more known to visitors, it is more winding, has even a couple of islands and its steep slopes are entirely uninhabited unlike Norway’s fjords. Normally clouds hang low between its escarpments and it rains a lot but also for Doubtful Sound the summer of 2013 was a pretty dry one. The wild albatrosses living at the fjord’s estuary don’t care much about that as they have their own water supply. Meeting them close enough to touch and seeing them flying above the wave crests is the most august wildlife experience of southern New Zealand »»

Anemonefish

December 30th, 2011

AnemonefishNot many fishes are automatically having that cuteness factor anemonefish do have and at the latest after the Find Nemo film everyone knows them. Though anemonefish can appear in much more different ways than being only orange and painted with two white stripes. No matter how exactly they are looking like, mostly they are very small and the human eye can quickly miss them when they are hiding themselves between dozens of tentacles »»

Die Tölpel vom Cape Kidnappers und der Trans-Tasmanische Flug

13. Juni 2014

Die Tölpel vom Cape Kidnappers und der Trans-Tasmanische FlugSeevögel sind kleine Wunderwerke der Evolution und Neuseeland beheimatet viele von ihnen, unter anderem die zweitseltenste Tölpelart, den australasischen Tölpel. Dieser kleine gefiederte Kerl ist voll und ganz auf seinen Lebensraum angepasst, ein pfeilschneller Jäger und exzellenter Segelflieger. Am Muriwai Beach und am Cape Kidnappers nistet er beobachtbar. In der Hawke’s Bay verbrachte ich zwei Tage mit den Meisterfliegern, deren Erwachsenwerden mit einem lebensbedrohlichen Abenteuer startet, dem Trans-Tasmanischen Flug »»

Leben entlang der Landebahn – Das Tuvalu Atoll

13. Februar 2014

Leben entlang der Landebahn – Das Tuvalu AtollDie eigentliche eigene Landmasse betrachtet, ist Tuvalu der zweitkleinste Staat der Welt. Manche seiner Eilande sind so schmal, dass man förmlich von der einen zur anderen Seite spucken kann. Das Herz des Inselstaates ist das Funafuti Atoll, das östlich von der Hauptinsel Fongafale umschlossen wird. Dort kann gelandet werden, auf dem höchsten Punkt des Landes, auf 5 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel. Entlang jener Landebahn spielt sich das Leben ab und bescherte mir den bis dato wichtigsten Moment authentisch gelebter polynesischer Kultur, nebst Abendessen mit dem Premierminister »»

Tonga – Wo die Zeit beginnt

7. Februar 2014

Tonga – Wo die Zeit beginntWas haben das Inselreich Tongas und ein 20 Kilovolt-Elektrokabel gemeinsam? Richtig, beides ist spannend und beachtlich isoliert, denn das 136 Eilande umfassende Königreich ist die einzige polynesische Inselgruppe, die vom Westen nie kolonialisiert wurde. Der früher auf den Namen „Freundschaftsinseln“ hörende Archipel liegt am bis zu 10,8 km tiefen Tongagraben; einer Verwerfung, wo sich die pazifische unter die australische Platte schiebt und nahe dem 180. Längengrad – der internationalen Datumsgrenze – wo man als einer der Ersten auf dem Planeten das neue Jahr begrüßen kann. Da der weiße Mann dort nur wenig seine Finger im Spiel hatte, konnten einzigartige polynesische Kulturgüter wie z.B. der Ha’amonga Trilith überleben. Gern nehmen die Einwohner den „palangi“ an die Hand und zeigen ihm Highlights wie die Blow Holes, Flughunde oder die magische Anahulu Cave, einer Tropfsteinhöhle mit einem glasklaren kleinen Süßwassersee zum Baden »»

Abel Tasman Nationalpark – Der Seelöwenspielsplatz mit holländischen Wurzeln

1. Juli 2013

Abel Tasman Nationalpark – Der Seelöwenspielsplatz mit holländischen WurzelnJames Cook spielte bei der Erkundung Neuseelands unzweifelhaft die bedeutendste Rolle für uns Angehörige der westlichen Zivilisation, aber es war Abel Tasman von der holländischen Ostindien-Kompanie der bereits gute 100 Jahre zuvor das neuseeländische Festland als erster Europäer entdeckte und dessen Name in alle Ewigkeit eine Insel, ein Meer und eben auch Neuseelands kleinsten Nationalpark zieren. Letzterer Park ist an der Nordküste der neuseeländischen Südinsel zu Hause und sowohl landschaftlich als auch von der Tierwelt her ein buchstäblicher Garten Eden. Abgerundet wird dieses Paradies en miniature durch seine unmittelbare Nachbarschaft, das Cape Farewell und die Strände der Golden Bay, welche allesamt zu den Orten gehören die man als Neuseeland-Besucher unbedingt gesehen haben sollte »»

Doubtful Sound – Der Fjord wo Albatrosse steil gehen

29. April 2013

Doubtful Sound – Der Fjord wo Albatrosse steil gehenDer Doubtful Sound ist einer der großen imposanten Fjorde an der Westküste der neuseeländischen Südinsel. Anders als der bekanntere Milford Sound ist er verwinkelter, hat sogar kleine Inseln und anders als Norwegens Fjorde sind seine steilen Wände gänzlich unbewohnt. Normalerweise hängen dichte Wolken zwischen seinen Schluchten und regnen sich ab, doch der Sommer 2013 war für auch für den Doubtful Sound ein sehr trockener. Den wilden Albatrossen an der Fjordmündung scheint das egal. Majestätisch und zeitlos ziehen ihre Bahnen durch den Himmel und haben ihre ganz eigene Wasserversorgung. Diese gefiederten Kerle mühelos über die Wellenkämme gleiten zu sehen ist das wohl erhabenste Naturerlebnis Südneuseelands »»

Anemonenfische

30. Dezember 2011

AnemonenfischeWohl kaum einer Fischart fliegen die Herzen derart zu wie den Anemonenfischen und spätestens seit Findet Nemo sind sie in aller Munde, im verbalen Sinne versteht sich ;-) Allerdings weisen nicht alle Anemonenfische automatisch die durch den Film bekannt gewordene orange-weiß gebänderte Färbung auf. Wie auch immer sie aussehen mögen, sie sind relativ klein und können ob des Versteckens in der Anemone wegen schnell übersehen werden. Hat man sie dennoch entdeckt, kann man stundenlang verharren und ihr wuseliges Treiben im Geflecht der Fangarme und im Gefecht gegen die Strömung beobachten, denn selbst im knöcheltiefen Wasser kann man sie antreffen »»