One for All and All in One – Warsaw’s Underground

October 7th, 2014

One for All and All in One – Warsaw’s UndergroundFollowing the course of Vistula River, Poland’s one and only underground stops at 21 stations in Warsaw’s underground. Consisting of only one single line being in operation, about 370.000 people use the coaches shuttling along the 23.1 kilometres long track. Planning and design actually having started in the 1920’s finally saw and end when in 1995 Metro Warszawskie started operations. It belongs not only to the youngest undergrounds in Europe but also has officially one of the most beautiful stations in the world. Very soon its singlehood will change though as the start of second line operations already loom »»

The Poor, the Cool and History – Riding on Berlin’s U8

September 8th, 2014

The Poor, the Cool and History – Riding on Berlin’s U8Besides being Berlin’s second North-South connection the U8 line is first and foremost a journey through history as well as social structures of the German capital. Beginning at the mystic Märkisches Viertel, having its own rules, the U8 route leads through nowadays central Berlin being annexed by trend victims, parasitic hipster Yankees and new arrived wanna-be Berliners around Rosenthaler Platz, to end at the original Kreuzberg and Neukölln districts, where life in summer happens in the streets, the Mediterranean way, where Berlin’s multi-cultural facet becomes more apparent again »»

The Tunnelbana Netherworlds of the Stockholm Metro

May 9th, 2014

The Tunnelbana Netherworlds of the Stockholm MetroWhat do Ebba, Knut, Greta and Elvis have in common? Correct: all of them are true blue, come across the “wrong” side and run in Stockholm’s underground solely. But what sounds a bit like a scattered group of weirdoes is actually black-blue, made of metal and dedicated to transport people: the Tunnelbana, Stockholm’s metro, where every of its coaches has its own name. Quite likeable, isn’t it? But the real gem of the Swedish metropolitan underground is the variety of its stations since in particular the subterranean stops are brought to the fore artistically making every stage telling a very own optically exciting story. »»

Bypassing East Berlin with the U9

April 22nd, 2014

Bypassing East Berlin with the U9Running completely subterranean and on former West Berlin territory only the U9 line is 18 stops and 12.5km long. The line having orange as colour code connects Berlin’s Wedding district and the south-western Steglitz neighbourhood with the western city centre around the Zoological Garden station »»

Temple of Justice – Berlin Mitte’s Court Building

April 7th, 2014

Temple of Justice – Berlin Mitte’s Court BuildingDespite being something very positive, when taking decisions independently from the sovereigns point of view, you, as a normal citizen, will rarely get in touch with courts. Of course Berlin has a court too, even several local courts, but it is the 1904 built Amtsgericht in Berlin’s Mitte district that peeps out of the grey mass and that deserves a look behind the scenes »»

U55 – The Chancellor’s Metro

March 24th, 2014

U55 – The Chancellor’s MetroWith a length of only 1,8km and merely 3 stops being served, the U55 is currently Berlin’s shortest underground but that will change as it is an isolated subsection of the U5 and will join forces with its mother in 2019 after the construction works at Unter den Linden as well as Alexanderplatz get finished. Since primarily it runs under the governmental district Berliner’s call it cheekily as The Chancellor’s U or Angie’s private metro »»

Photo Series featuring Berlin’s Metro Network

March 19th, 2014

Photo Series featuring Berlin’s Metro NetworkThe German capital can look back on a worldwide unique history and of course the city’s constructional countenance gives a very good reflection of that. Against the background of other European capitals Berlin seems to skip a couple of urban development stages. Despite constructional blunders and demolition one of the best history tellers is still around, that is the city’s infrastructure, in particular the underground transportation, its diverse tunnels and various stations. When having a closer look they reveal a stunning piece of Berlin’s chronicles as well as contemporary stories »»

From North to South with Berlin’s U6

March 18th, 2014

From North to South with Berlin’s U6The photographic ride along the course of Berlin’s underground continues, this time with the U6 which runs from the North to the South, connecting bourgeois Alt-Mariendorf with the aviation noise characterised Alt-Tegel neighbourhood. Along its course the U6 serves not only 29 stations, it also stops at important transportation hubs like Wedding and Tempelhof, both part of the circular S-Bahn line, or Friedrichstraße, one of Berlin’s major transfer stations »»

U3 – The University Metro

December 11th, 2013

U3 – The University MetroBerlin’s underground line 3 runs through the city’s southwest, between Nollendorfplatz station and its terminus Krumme Lanke. It connects the campuses of the Berlin university ‘Freie Universität’ with the western city centre. Its present course is 12.1 kilometres long and exists since 2004. In particular the stations being located on Wilmersdorf territory were given quite an aesthetic appearance to remain as icon for the former wealth of this neighbourhood »»

Kreuzberg’s Main Artery – Berlin’s U1 line

November 25th, 2013

Kreuzberg’s Main Artery – Berlin’s U1 lineBerlin’s U1 line runs east-west, from Warschauer Straße to Uhlandstraße, from Friedrichshain district to Charlottenburg. More than the half of its course U1 rides everything but U (that is underground) and the majority of its route leads through Kreuzberg district. That neighbourhood gets shaped by U1’s elevated railway trail to such an extent, that the interaction between train and district even inspired a musical to become written. Behind Potsdamer Platz daylight travelling is over and the metro disappears to accomplish its 8.8 km long ride towards its terminus in the City West »»

Hipster, Historie und Hartz IV – Unterwegs mit der Berliner U8

8. September 2014

Hipster, Historie und Hartz IV – Unterwegs mit der Berliner U8Die U8 ist nicht nur Berlins zweite Nord-Süd-Verbindung, sie ist in erster Linie eine Reise durch die Historie als auch sozialen Schichten der Stadt, beginnend beim verschworenen Märkischen Viertel mit seinen eigenen Regeln, über das von Zugezogenen annektierte Szene-Mitte mit seinen Trendopfern und parasitären Yankee-Hipstern, bis hin zum urig-mediterranen Kreuzberg-Neukölln, wo Berlins multikulturelle aber auch wieder prekäre Seite zum Vorschein kommt »»

Die Unterwelten der Stockholmer Tunnelbana

9. Mai 2014

Die Unterwelten der Stockholmer TunnelbanaWas haben Ebba, Knut, Greta und Elvis gemeinsam? Richtig: alle sind blau, auf der „falschen“ Seite anzutreffen und verkehren ausschließlich in der Stockholmer Unterwelt. Was nach ner Horde zechender Grufties klingt, ist genauer gesagt schwarz-blau, aus Metall und dem Transport von Menschen gewidmet, denn jeder Waggon der Stockholmer U-Bahn Tunnelbana hört auf einen eigenen Namen. Hauptzutat der schwedisch-sympathischen Hauptstadtmetro ist aber vor allem die Vielfalt der Bahnhöfe. Die unterirdischen von ihnen sind künstlerisch ausgestaltet und erzählen eigentlich immer eine  eigene, optisch-spannende Geschichte »»

Um den Osten herum mit der U9

22. April 2014

Um den Osten herum mit der U9Die komplett unterirdisch und ausschließlich im Westteil der Stadt verlaufende Berliner U-Bahnlinie 9 hat den Farbcode Orange und ist 18 Stationen bzw. 12,5 km lang. Sie verbindet den Bezirk Wedding mit dem westlichen Stadtzentrum um den Bahnhof Zoo und mit dem südwestlichen Bezirk Steglitz »»

Justiztempel – Das Amtsgericht Berlin Mitte

7. April 2014

Justiztempel – Das Amtsgericht Berlin MitteAls Normalsterblicher kommt man wohl selten in den Genuss ein Gericht betreten zu müssen und obwohl diese Institution (wenn sie unabhängig vom Staat funktioniert!) etwas durchweg Positives ist, bereitet es immer einem immer ein mulmiges Bauchgefühl solche Orte zu betreten. Berlin hat mehrere Amtsgerichte, aber nur eines sticht aus diesen Gebäuden hervor und auch nur, wenn man einen Blick hinter die Kulissen wirft, sprich hinein geht und sich das herrlich geschwungene Treppenhaus des 1904 fertig gestellten Baus anschaut »»

Die Kanzler-Bahn U55

24. März 2014

Die Kanzler-Bahn U55Die im August 2009 eröffnete U55 ist eigentlich ein isolierter Teil der U5, welcher allerdings erst 2019 an die Strecke der eigentlichen U5 angeschlossen wird, sprich sobald die Bauarbeiten Unter den Linden und am Alexanderplatz abgeschlossen sind. Aktuell ist die U55 mit lediglich 1,8km Länge und nur 3 bedienten Stationen Berlins kürzeste U-Bahn und da sie primär unter dem Regierungsviertel verläuft, nennen sie die Berliner schlicht Kanzler-Bahn bzw. Angies private U »»

Fotoserie über das Berliner U-Bahn-Netz

19. März 2014

Fotoserie über das Berliner U-Bahn-NetzDie deutsche Hauptstadt kann auf eine weltweit einzigartige Geschichte zurückblicken, welche sich (logischerweise) auch im Antlitz der Stadt, der Bebauung, wiederspiegelt. Im Vergleich zu anderen Metropolen Europas scheint Berlin dabei ein paar Entwicklungsstadien überspringen zu wollen, derart schnell entfalten sich hier Bauvorhaben, Bausünden und strukturell fragwürdige Veränderungen. Einer der wichtigsten, vielfältigsten und beständigsten Reflektoren der Historie, die Infrastruktur, ist nicht so schnell unterzukriegen, und ein ganz besonderer Teil dieser ist Berlins U-Bahn, welche beim genauen Betrachten alte wie brandaktuelle Geschichten preisgibt »»

Von Nord nach Süd mit der U-Bahnlinie 6

18. März 2014

Von Nord nach Süd mit der U-Bahnlinie 6Die fotografische Reise mit der Berliner U-Bahn geht weiter. Dieses Mal mit der U6, welche von Nord nach Süd verkehrt und das bürgerliche Alt-Mariendorf mit dem gemütlichen, vom Fluglärm geprägten Kiez Alt-Tegel verbindet. Auf dieser Reise durch die Stadt bedient sie dabei nicht nur 29 Bahnhöfe sondern auch wichtige Knotenpunkte, wie z.B. die Ringbahnhöfe Wedding und Tempelhof, aber auch die Friedrichstraße, einen der verkehrs- und umsteigereichsten Orte Berlins »»

U3 – Die Universitäts-Bahn

11. Dezember 2013

U3 – Die Universitäts-BahnDie U-Bahnlinie 3 verkehrt im Südwesten der Stadt, zwischen Nollendorfplatz und Krummer Lanke und verbindet die Standorte der Freien Universität mit dem westlichen Stadtzentrum. Im Laufe ihrer Geschichte wechselte der Verlauf der U3 mehrfach. Die heutige 12,1 Kilometer lange Route existiert erst seit 2004 und besonders die im Wilmersdorfer Gebiet liegenden Bahnhöfe wurden kunstvoll, teils zu Kathedralen ausgestaltet, um dem bürgerlichen Wohlstand dieses Kiezes zusätzlich Ausdruck zu verleihen »»

Kreuzbergs Hauptschlagader – Die U1

25. November 2013

Kreuzbergs Hauptschlagader – Die U1Die Berliner U-Bahnlinie 1 durchquert die Stadt von Ost nach West, von der Warschauer Straße bis zur Uhlandstraße, vom Friedrichshain bis nach Charlottenburg. Über die Hälfte der Strecke fährt die U1 alles andere als U (sprich unterirdisch) und ein Großteil des Weges führt dabei durch den Kreuzberg, der durch ihre Hochbahntrasse derart stark geprägt wird, dass jener Interaktion zwischen Zug und Bezirk sogar ein Musical gewidmet wurde. Hinter dem Potsdamer Platz ist’s vorbei mit der Fahrt bei Tageslicht, die U1 verschwindet wieder und vollendet ihre 8,8 Kilometer lange Reise auf dem Weg zum Endbahnhof in der City West »»

Oberbaum – Wo sich alle Himmelsrichtungen treffen

24. Oktober 2013

Oberbaum – Wo sich alle Himmelsrichtungen treffenDie Berliner Oberbaumbrücke ist Symbol für Vieles. Wo heute Autos, U-Bahnen und Touristen die Spree von Nord nach Süd überqueren, verlief früher die Grenze zwischen Ost und West. Der ehemalige Grenzstreifen orientierte sich dort am Verlauf der Spree; eine Route auf der heute Ausflugsdampfer verkehren. Die Türme der Oberbaumbrücke symbolisieren die Nachbarschaft von Berlin und Brandenburg und sind nicht nur identitätsstiftend für den direkt danebengelegenen Club Watergate sondern für die gesamte Stadt. Auch in meinem Leben spielt die Oberbaum eine wichtige Rolle: sie war mein Erstkontakt mit dem Westen kurz nachdem die Mauer fiel »»