In the Final Round…!

February 27th, 2015

logo_en I am on the way to Moscow now, to attend to the award ceremony of Golden Turtle, a big international photo contest and […] the largest international eco-cultural educational project, carried out in Russia. I have no idea which one of my photos made it into the final round and I have no clue if I’ll win or not, but it’s quite an honour having reached the last round of the first photo contest I have ever joined at the first go. Why the first ever? Well, just have a look at the mouseprinted terms & conditions of National Geographic & Co. that should make you think twice before uploading photos… Let’s have a look what will happen :-)   »»

Syria Photos Series revised

October 13th, 2014

Syria Photos Series revisedI am more than happy to have visited Syria…! The country plunged into complete disaster as the civil war threw the country at incredible turmoil. The war tore families, friends and everyday life apart and had a massive impact on all cultural sites as well of course. Nothing is like it was before…, which is pretty inconceivable for us stability-blessed westerners. As an hommage to a country with an incredible hospitality and a worlwide unique historic substance I have put the photo material taken in 2007 to a revision, also because the software side of digital photography is subject to technical evolution. Nowadays, only 7 years after my journey, writing down the word Syria rather leads to receiving intelligence service attention instead of awakening excitement for a genuine Crusader fortress, thousands of years old settlements or ancient Roman ruins. Sad…! »»

The Poor, the Cool and History – Riding on Berlin’s U8

September 8th, 2014

The Poor, the Cool and History – Riding on Berlin’s U8Besides being Berlin’s second North-South connection the U8 line is first and foremost a journey through history as well as social structures of the German capital. Beginning at the mystic Märkisches Viertel, having its own rules, the U8 route leads through nowadays central Berlin being annexed by trend victims, parasitic hipster Yankees and new arrived wanna-be Berliners around Rosenthaler Platz, to end at the original Kreuzberg and Neukölln districts, where life in summer happens in the streets, the Mediterranean way, where Berlin’s multi-cultural facet becomes more apparent again »»

xflo:w photo calendar 2015 – South Pacific and Architecture

July 4th, 2014

xflo:w photo calendar 2015 – South Pacific and ArchitectureAlso the year 2015 will see again two high quality variants of the annually produced xflo:w photo calendar. Thematically the first calendar reflects the South Seas, a journey I made earlier this year through the island world of the South Pacific. The other calendar shows architecture photos I have taken throughout the last years with images featuring a strong geometrical or abstract aspect. Have a look at the following preview: »»

xflo:w Photo Calendar 2014

August 23rd, 2013

xflo:w Photo Calendar 2014Thanks a lot for the success of the Kamchatka calendar released last year. Also for 2014 I will publish a photo calendar, even two calendars again, to be precise as photogenic New Zealand’s varity leaves me no choice. You can choose between a mountain and volcano edition or a calendar featuring coasts and wildlife. Read on to see the preview »»

Moshic at Fiese Remise in Berlin

August 12th, 2013

Moshic at Fiese Remise in BerlinWhen staying true to oneself for more than 10 years then DJ opportunists, jumping on all kinds of musical bandwagons only to be on the spot, might speak about stagnation. That this is not always the case proves DJ and producer Moshic from Israel who belongs to my favourites for more than a decade. On Saturday August 10th time has come and Moshic gave his Berlin debut at the Fiese Remise club, a Berlin-typical location made by the guys running Sage Club and Sage Restaurant »»

East Germany’s Soviet Heritage – The Treptow War Memorial in Berlin

June 25th, 2013

East Germany’s Soviet Heritage – The Treptow War Memorial in BerlinAs a small boy I was pretty much impressed by the Soviet War Memorial being located in Berlin’s Treptower Park and even today that place has quite some impact. However, nowadays such a visit is generally voluntary than back in the days, as the whole school had got to show up there. Though, that wasn’t a loss as independent from the system one’s living in one could get a feeling for what history means, war stands for and what has to be prevented from happening again. The memorial site lies a bit hidden behind the trees of Treptower Park and only the granite triumphal arches give a hint what can be seen when going further. The war memorial played an important role when the Group of Soviet Forces in Germany (GSFG) backed out on June 25th 19 years ago »»

East Germany’s Soviet Heritage – The mighty Wünsdorf garrison

February 25th, 2013

East Germany’s Soviet Heritage – The mighty Wünsdorf garrisonVillage of 6.000 souls versus military town with up to 75.000 soldiers – Back in the days the Soviets knew very well how to make use of Wünsdorf (Вюнсдорф), a settlement being located in Berlin’s south along the railroad leading to Dresden. Even if the whole territory is abandoned for several years now and completely fenced, it is possible to have a closer look at the heart of the complex, the today’s House of Officers, a building telling manifold stories of times when it was Army Sports School for the Nazi as well as even before for the emperor »»

East Germany’s Soviet Heritage – Vogelsang’s abandoned Military Garrison

February 1st, 2013

East Germany’s Soviet Heritage – Vogelsang’s abandoned Military GarrisonAfter World War II a huge area being located less than a 1 hour car drive away from the highway ring surrounding Berlin became one of Soviet Army’s most important military sites. This abandoned garrison is located near the city of Zehdenick, in the north of the village Vogelsang. At peak time up to 15.000 people lived and worked in the present-day ghost town; soldiers, their relatives as well as civil associates. Some of them controlled nuclear missiles pointing to the west – a piece of Cold War and living history »»

xflo:w photo calendar 2013

September 25th, 2012

xflo:w photo calendar 20132012 was wild, was busy and was affected by emotional, social and personal ups and downs. The travel period for my expedition to the Far East volcanoes of Russia on Kamchatka, was August and September. Since that time is already pretty close to the calendar’s actual production time there will be only one classic travel photo calendar for 2013. Though I’ve decided to produce a second calendar, something that I’ve always wanted to do, that is a calendar featuring architecture and urban black-and-white motifs; a calendar showing photography from its artistic side »»

Syrien-Fotoserie überarbeitet

13. Oktober 2014

Syrien-Fotoserie überarbeitetWas bin ich froh damals Syrien besucht zu haben…! Der syrische Bürgerkrieg ist eine Tragödie sondergleichen. Er zerriss das Land, Freunde und Familien und hat natürlich auch auf den Alltag sowie auf die Kulturgüter immensen Einfluss. Nichts ist mehr so wie es mal war…, was für uns stabilitätsverwöhnte westliche Generation nicht vorstellbar ist. Als Hommage an ein Land mit unglaublicher Gastfreundschaft und mit einer einzigartigen, tiefgehenden Geschichte habe ich meine Syrien-Fotoserie aus dem Jahr 2007 überarbeitet, denn auch die Softwareseite der digitalen Fotografie unterliegt dem Fortschritt. Heutzutage, nur 7 Jahre nach meiner Reise, führt die allgemeine Hysterie bzgl. des Wortes Syrien eher zu einem Eintrag in einer Geheimdienst-Datenbank denn Bewunderung und Begeisterung für die Überbleibsel von z.B. Kreuzrittern oder aber den Römern auszulösen. Traurig! »»

Hipster, Historie und Hartz IV – Unterwegs mit der Berliner U8

8. September 2014

Hipster, Historie und Hartz IV – Unterwegs mit der Berliner U8Die U8 ist nicht nur Berlins zweite Nord-Süd-Verbindung, sie ist in erster Linie eine Reise durch die Historie als auch sozialen Schichten der Stadt, beginnend beim verschworenen Märkischen Viertel mit seinen eigenen Regeln, über das von Zugezogenen annektierte Szene-Mitte mit seinen Trendopfern und parasitären Yankee-Hipstern, bis hin zum urig-mediterranen Kreuzberg-Neukölln, wo Berlins multikulturelle aber auch wieder prekäre Seite zum Vorschein kommt »»

xflo:w Fotokalender 2015 – Südpazifik und Architektur

4. Juli 2014

xflo:w Fotokalender 2015 – Südpazifik und ArchitekturAuch für das Jahr 2015 wird es wieder zwei Varianten des xflo:w Fotokalenders in gewohnt hoher Qualität geben. Thematisch beschäftigt sich der erste Kalender mit der meiner Reise durch die Südsee und der zweite Kalender ist eine Kollektion von Architekturfotos die mir im Laufe der Jahre vor die “Flinte” gekommen sind und deren Charakter geometrisch bzw. abstrakt ist. Nachfolgend hier die Kalender-Vorschau: »»

xflo:w Fotokalender 2014

23. August 2013

xflo:w Fotokalender 2014Vielen lieben Dank für den Erfolg des letztjährigen Fotokalenders mit Impressionen aus dem großartigen Kamtschatka. Auch für 2014 wird es wieder einen Fotokalender geben, genauer gesagt auch wieder zwei, denn die motivische Vielfalt Neuseelands läßt mir keine Wahl… Man kann die Bergwelt Neuseelands einfach nicht mit den Küstenregionen mischen, denn beides steht thematisch wie motivisch für sich. Anbei die Vorschau was Ihr erwarten könnt »»

Moshic in der Fiesen Remise in Berlin

12. August 2013

Moshic in der Fiesen Remise in BerlinWenn man sich selbst 10 Jahre lang treu bleibt, dann mögen Opportunisten, die ihre DJ-Fahne in jeden musikalischen Wind dieser Welt halten, wohl von Stillstand sprechen. Das dem nicht immer so ist, stellt der israelische DJ und Produzent Moshic unter Beweis, der schon seit gut einer Dekade zu meinen absoluten Lieblingen gehört. Am Samstag dem 10. August war es so weit: Moshic gab sein Debüt in Berlin, in der Fiesen Remise, einem kleinen berlin-typischen Club ins Leben gerufen von den Machern des Sage Clubs und Restaurants »»

Ostdeutschlands sowjetisches Erbe – Das Treptower Ehrenmal

25. Juni 2013

Ostdeutschlands sowjetisches Erbe – Das Treptower EhrenmalAls kleiner Junge war ich schwer vom Besuch des Treptower Ehrenmals beeindruckt. Auch heute ist das noch so, nur das der Besuch in diesen Tagen generell freiwilliger Natur ist und nicht von der Schule organisiert erfolgt. Dennoch hat uns das damals nicht geschadet. Im Gegenteil, bekommt man doch ganz unabhängig von der Gesellschaftsordnung ein Gefühl dafür, was Geschichte und Krieg bedeuten und was es zu verhindern gilt. Die Anlage liegt versteckt im Treptower Park und von außen geben nur die Triumphbögen aus Granit einen Hinweis darauf, was sich hinter den Baumwipfeln versteckt »»

Ostdeutschlands sowjetisches Erbe – Das mächtige Wünsdorf

25. Februar 2013

Ostdeutschlands sowjetisches Erbe – Das mächtige Wünsdorf6.000 Seelen Dorf contra Militärstadt mit bis zu 75.000 Soldaten – Die Sowjets wussten das südlich der Hauptstadt an der Bahnstrecke Berlin-Dresden gelegene Wünsdorf (Вюнсдорф) gut zu nutzen. Auch wenn bereits seit etlichen Jahren verlassen und komplett umzäunt, so kann der Kern des Areals, das heutige Haus der Offiziere, die frühere Heeressportschule bzw. noch frühere Kaiserliche Turnanstalt, die glücklicherweise alle Epochen und Kriege überdauerte, immer noch seine facettenreiche Geschichte erzählen »»

Ostdeutschlands sowjetisches Erbe – Die verlassene Kaserne in Vogelsang

1. Februar 2013

Ostdeutschlands sowjetisches Erbe – Die verlassene Kaserne in VogelsangWeniger als eine Autostunde vom Berliner Ring entfernt liegt im Norden der Hauptstadt bei Zehdenick ein kleines Dörfchen in dessen Norden nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg ein bedeutender Standort der Sowjetischen Streitkräfte entstand, die mittlerweile verlassene Garnison Vogelsang (Гарнизон Фогельзанг). Zu Spitzenzeiten lebten und arbeiteten in der heutigen Geisterstadt bis zu 15.000 Menschen; Soldaten, deren Angehörige sowie zivile Standortmitarbeiter. Einige von ihnen bedienten Nuklearraketen die auf den Westen gerichtet waren – Kalter Krieg zum Anfassen »»

xflo:w Fotokalender 2013

25. September 2012

xflo:w Fotokalender 20132012 war wild, arbeitsreich und geprägt von emotionalen wie gesellschaftlichen und persönlichen Aufs und Abs. Vom Reisezeitraum her liegt der September, und damit meine Expedition in den äußersten Osten Russlands zu den Vulkanen Kamtschatkas, schon sehr nah am Produktionstermin des Kalenders. Von daher gibt es für 2013 nur einen klassischen Reisefotokalender, der aber wiederum um etwas ergänzt wird, was ich schon immer mal machen wollte, sprich einen echten Architekturkalender, der die Fotografie ein wenig von ihrer künstlerischen Seite her aufgreift zu veröffentlichen »»

Niemals wieder bmi – Eine Flugannullierung und ihre Folgen

16. Oktober 2011

Wer viel reist, hat eine Menge zu erzählen, so auch im Bereich des Reisens an sich, wenn es um den eigentlichen Transport von A nach B geht. Das viele Fluglinien ihre Passagiere schon lange nicht mehr als Kunden sondern nur noch als zahlendes Vieh betrachten, ist ein offenes Geheimnis. Die Art und Weise des Service an Bord ist einer der besten Indikatoren dafür, wie eine Airline seine Passagiere betrachtet. Das es allerdings noch dreister geht als dem Passagier eine lieblos geschmierte pappige Stulle, die noch nicht mal ein Hund fressen würde, auf den Klapptisch zu knallen, bewies im Februar 2011 die britische Fluglinie British Midland International (bmi) »»