economind annual calendar 2010

December 1st, 2009

Again yet another year is drawing to a close. Traditionally that’s the time when the retail industry stops moaning and all things experienced get drowned in hot wine punch. As every year since 2005 it is also the time my new annual photo calendar, presented by Berlin-based business consulting company economind sees the light of day »»

Marianne’s and Peter’s big day

November 26th, 2009

Marianne’s and Peter’s big dayBecoming married on Berlin’s lifeline Spree river and on a boat is truly something special. Marianne and Peter tied the marital knot in September and even the usually suboptimal weather made a break and showed its most beautiful late summerly face like appointed the day before. »»

Border Community at Berlin’s WMF

November 14th, 2009

Border Community at Berlin’s WMFJames Holden and his label Border Community need no introduction anymore. By now both are representing two very own standards which are unique in the world of electronic music, as over the years both were developing their styles further without paying too much attention to fugacious trends or societal pressure. To add some spice to his gig at Berlin’s WMF club, James put long-term companion Nathan Fake in charge to make our ears buzzing »»

John Digweed digging in the weeds of Poznan

October 24th, 2009

John Digweed digging in the weeds of PoznanSpeaking about Polish nightlife, then at the moment Poznan-based SQ club is definitely one of Poland’s hottest addresses. For about 4 years now the higher DJ nobilities are streaming in and out of Poznan’s clubbing resource and to celebrate its fourth year of existence quite a music delicacy had been obliged to play: John Digweed. Actively supported by SQ resident Hagal and Warsaw-based Peres, the Brit splashed out a four-hour killer set. »»

Strictly net – Berlin’s Netaudio Festival 2009

October 11th, 2009

Strictly net – Berlin’s Netaudio Festival 2009Producers, products, charts and consumers, this is a world the Netaudio movement doesn’t want to subject themselves to. Trust and attention are the keywords on their banner. Also they want to bring dignity back into the music business by eliminating the financial aspect as the roots of engagement. Driven by that philosophy and from a 150 candidates an cutting-edge festival of worldwide attention emerged. And no other underground club could have been a better venue than Berlin’s Maria am Ufer »»

Asia wrapped in Glass and Steel – Hong Kong

October 7th, 2009

Asia wrapped in Glass and Steel – Hong KongEven after having returned to the People’s Republic of China, former British crown colony Hong Kong still remains to be one of Asia’s most important centres; and not only in financial terms. Independent from sailing under the free-market or communist flag Hong Kong experienced a quite apparent boom which can’t be ignored when strolling along the seaside promenade along Victoria Harbour. Despite being surrounded by turbo capitalism flexing its glass & steel muscles, many things that kept its Asian authenticity can be spotted among the flickering lights of an ocean of illuminated advertisings. First and foremost this authenticity is emerging from all things called freshness, steam and seafood, in short: Hong Kong’s amazing Cantonese cuisine »»

Eco-Clubbing with Climate Effects

September 25th, 2009

Eco-Clubbing with Climate EffectsIf there’s yet another farmer-fondled French goose passing the counter somewhere near Berlin’s Kollwitzplatz and ending up in a New-Berliner’s shopping cart right next to widely travelled garlic from China and morning tea picked at full moon, then it is surely one of the more extreme appearances of eco-delusions, or better to say organic food delusions. Recently held Energy Union night at Berlin’s WMF club however attested that the very same impulse is even able to raise much more sensitive topics, while connecting serious issues, unusual locations and top acts like Coldcut live, Monolake live and the djing Modeselektor boys »»

Late Summer at Bosporus

September 6th, 2009

Late Summer at BosporusBeside spring also late summer is one of the most attractive travel seasons to have a closer look at the Bosporus pearl, as the climatic mix of sun, clouds and fresh breezes coming from the Mediterranian sea is a perfect background to soak up Istanbul’s attitude towards life at daytime as well as at night like a sponge »»

Audioriver Festival 2009 – From Lake Kalksee to Vistula river

August 8th, 2009

Audioriver Festival 2009 – From Lake Kalksee to Vistula riverBeside already known constants like Plock’s homey Old Town, beautiful Vistula river and the great Polish crowd, the fourth festival edition also had some innovations such as the new day programme on offer. Audioriver’s wisely chosen line-up consolidated its position among Europe’s festival heavyweights, as once again masters of timeless electronic music had been committed to play the open-air party being held some 100km north-western of Warsaw, starting with Richie Hawtin and Ulrich Schnauss, to Gui Boratto and James Holden. Even the Moderat boys didn’t miss their chance to bang their rusty (tent) nails into Polish ground for the first time and to be part of a musical midsummer night’s dream in picturesque Plock »»

economind Jahreskalender 2010

1. Dezember 2009

Und wieder neigt sich ein ereignisreiches Jahr dem Ende zu. Traditionell ist das die Zeit in der der Einzelhandel endlich mal mit stöhnen aufhört und in der das Erlebte oftmals kollektiv im Glühwein ertränkt wird. Wie jedes Jahr seit 2005 ist dies auch die Zeit in der mein Bildkalender, produziert für die Berliner Unternehmensberatung economind erscheint »»

Mariannes und Peters großer Tag

26. November 2009

Mariannes und Peters großer TagMitten auf der Berliner Lebensader namens Spree und auf einem Schiff zu heiraten ist schon etwas Besonderes. Marianne und Peter gaben sich im September das Ja-Wort und selbst das Wetter zeigte wie bestellt sein schönstes spätsommerliches Gesicht. »»

Border Community im Berliner WMF

14. November 2009

Border Community im Berliner WMFJames Holden und sein Label Border Community braucht man nicht mehr vorzustellen. Beide haben Maßstäbe gesetzt sowie ihre eigenen Stile ungeachtet von kurzlebigen Trends oder gesellschaftlichem Druck konsequent weiterentwickelt und haben die elektronische Musik so um eine ganz eigene Stilrichtung bereichert. Als Verstärkung für seinen Auftritt holte er sich Weggefährte Nathan Fake mit ins Boot der die Gehörgänge der Crowd im gut gefüllten Berliner WMF gehörig zum flattern brachte »»

John Digweed pflügt Poznan um

24. Oktober 2009

John Digweed pflügt Poznan umDer in Poznan beheimatete SQ Club ist definitiv eine der heißesten Adressen des polnischen Nachtlebens. Seit nunmehr 4 Jahren geben sich dort die DJ-Größen die Klinke in die Hand und zum vierten Geburtstag stand mit John Digweed ein ganz besonderes Schmankerl auf dem Programm. Tatkräftig vom SQ Resident-DJ Hagal und dem Warschauer Peres unterstützt, ließ sich der Brite nicht lumpen und lieferte ein vierstündiges Monster-Set ab. »»

Ins Netz gegangen – Das Netaudio Festival 2009

11. Oktober 2009

Ins Netz gegangen – Das Netaudio Festival 2009Abseits von Produzenten, Charts, Produkten und Konsumenten hat sich eine Welt etabliert, die sich nicht den Tendenzen, Sorgen und Nöten des Musikmarktes unterwirft. Die Netaudio Bewegung hat sich auf die Fahne geschrieben der Musikszene ihre Würde wiederzugeben und statt finanzieller Interessen wieder menschliche Werte wie Vertrauen, Aufmerksamkeit und Zusammenarbeit zum Zuge kommen zu lassen. Aus jener Philosophie und über 150 Bewerbern entstand ein internationales Festival, dass ganz nah am urbanen Pulsschlag der Zeit und natürlich in Berlin stattfand, in einem der undergroundigsten Clubs der Stadt: der Maria am Ufer »»

Asien verpackt in Glas und Stahl – Hongkong

7. Oktober 2009

Asien verpackt in Glas und Stahl – HongkongDie einstige britische Kronkolonie Hongkong ist auch gut zehn Jahre nach ihrem Retransfer an die Volksrepublik China immer noch eines der wichtigsten Zentren Asiens, und nicht nur in rein finanzieller Hinsicht. Egal ob unter marktwirtschaftlicher oder kommunistischer Flagge, wer am Victoria Harbour entlang flaniert wird den Boom den Hongkong erfuhr unschwer übersehen können. Inmitten der bunten glitzernden Welt aus Werbeschildern gibt es viel zu entdecken, dass sich in der schnelllebigen Welt des Glas-Stahl-Turbokapitalismus seine asiatische Authentizität erhielt. In erster Linie ist damit das Essen gemeint; die von Frische, Dampf und Meeresgetier geprägte kantonesische Küche »»

Öko-Clubbing mit Klimaschutzeffekt

25. September 2009

Öko-Clubbing mit KlimaschutzeffektWenn irgendwo am Kollwitzplatz mal wieder eine handgestreichelte französische Gans über den Ladentisch geht und neben dem bei Vollmond gepflückten Frühstückstee, sowie weitgereistem Knoblauch aus China im Einkaufskorb des zugezogenen Baden-Würtembergers landet, dann ist das sicherlich eine der extremeren Erscheinungsformen des Öko-, genauergesagt Bio-Wahns. Das die gleiche Triebkraft allerdings auch sensible Themen wie den Klimawandel an ungewöhnlichen Orten zur Sprache bringen kann, bewies kürzlich die Energy Union Nacht im Berliner Club WMF, das gleichzeitig auch Austragungsort der vierten Allianz Party mit Top Acts wie Coldcut live, Monolake live und den auflegenden Modeselektor Jungs war »»

Spätsommer am Bosporus

6. September 2009

Spätsommer am BosporusNeben dem Frühjahr ist der Spätsommer eine der attraktivsten Reisezeiten um sich die Perle am Bosporus ein wenig genauer anschauen zu  können. Der Mix aus Sonne, Wolken und frischer Meeresbrise bildet eine ideale Grundlage das Istanbuler Lebensgefühl sowohl tagsüber als auch in der Nacht aufsaugen zu können und Nachschlag zu verlangen »»

Audioriver Festival 2009 – Vom Kalksee an die Weichsel

8. August 2009

Audioriver Festival 2009 – Vom Kalksee an die WeichselPack die Badehose ein, nimm Dein kleines Schwesterlein und dann nüscht wie raus zur Weichsel… Mit seiner vierten Ausgabe schickt sich das Audioriver Festival an ähnlich zeitlos zu werden, wie Connie Froboess’ Lied in Sachen Berliner Badespass. Das fein ausziselierte Line-Up festigte erneut das Standing in der Riege der europäischen Open Airs, versammelte sich doch eine ganze Reihe illustrer, für Qualität stehende Namen, beginnend bei Richie Hawtin über Ulrich Schnauss und Gui Boratto bis hin zu James Holden. Selbst die Jungs von Moderat ließen es sich nicht nehmen, ihre rostigen (Zelt-) Nägel erstmals in den polnischen Boden zu schlagen, um dem pittoresken Plock einen musikalischen Sommernachtstraum zu bescheren »»