West Berlin’s Soviet Heritage – The Tiergarten Soviet War Memorial

West Berlin’s Soviet Heritage – The Tiergarten Soviet War MemorialThe preliminary final of my photo series “East Germany’s Soviet Heritage” is dedicated to a paradox, that is the first of Berlin’s big Soviet commemorative sites as well as the only Soviet War Memorial on the territory of West Berlin. The monument was guarded by Red Army soldiers around the clock and is located within sight of Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. It was a Soviet and Communist thorn in the western side »»

East Germany’s Soviet Heritage – Löwen-Adler barracks and the Elstal Olympic Village

East Germany’s Soviet Heritage – Löwen-Adler barracks and the Elstal Olympic VillageWhen hearing of the Olympic Village for the 1936 Berlin Games, then people quickly think about Hitler, the Nazis as well as their making a cult out of Hindenburg, the former WW I hero and later President of the Reich. However also the Soviet Army lodged itself in strategically well located Elstal and its Löwen-Adler Kaserne military barracks, leaving a very interesting melange behind as in the Olympic Village not only a terrific abandoned swimming pool can be seen, but also a mix of clearly recognizable Nazi elements and typical Soviet iconography »»

Gasometer – Berlin-Schöneberg’s steel skeleton

Gasometer – Berlin-Schöneberg’s steel skeletonHip and cool Berlin and be pretty shallow as with having a highest elevation of only ~100 metres it’s generally got a very flat topography. And since German megalomania once also regulated the maximum height for residential buildings, it is very easy to overlook whole Berlin when standing on elevated places. One of those spots peeping out of the ocean of houses is Berlin-Schöneberg-based Gasometer, an industrial relict once used to store gas but that can be climbed today. »»

Moscow Metro – Queen of Undergrounds

Moscow Metro – Queen of UndergroundsI can still feel the New Year’s party on Red Square in my bones; the very square that was said to be entirely closed by western media. Well, I had quite a great midnight, enjoyed the fireworks and ice-skating together with Russians, Georgians and Armenians. Daytime temperatures meanwhile reached thrilling -21°C, a profound coldness that’s literally made for Banya visits and wearing thick leather coats. Each morning at 6 o‘clock I left my domicile on Bolshaya-Grusinskaya street, the big Georgian, and walk through the snow towards Barrikadnaya station to enter the Moscow Metro to capture and portrait the architecture of all its lines and station. »»

Golden Turtle – Almost missed Award

logo_enAlready last year I made it into the final of Golden Turtle photo competition, that is part of Russia’s largest eco-cultural project. This year I even got honoured while the image is now part of an exhibition at Manege (Манеж) being located directly next to Kremlin. Yet alone the divine dispensation called tailwind made me arriving Moscow on time and not facing the desaster of missing the final ceremony as Eurowings (former Germanwings) was again delayed »»

La Habana – Old Lady of the Caribbean

La Habana – Old Lady of the CaribbeanIn the course of the years colonial occupants as well as visitors gave the city of La Habana a couple of names. They called it “the dirty beauty” or “Paris of the Tropics” and also “The old Lady” is a common moniker for the capital of Cuba. With architectural highlights as well as lots of music, rum and cigars Vieja, the historic old town of Havana every day anew gives proof why it is a UNESCO World Heritage Site »»

East Germany’s Soviet Heritage

East Germany’s Soviet HeritageDue to widespread demonization and digitally categorising everything in good and evil, some Westerners will surely misunderstand my photo series “East Germany’s Soviet Heritage” thoroughly as being propaganda or glorification. I do the project primarily because of my huge interest in history and Soviet Union as well as Communist times being definitely everything but boring. Both things are unique and, no matter if I want it or not, they are part of my life and me growing up »»

Cuba Calling, a Pay Phone Photo Story

Cuba Calling, a Pay Phone Photo StoryNowadays Cuba has plenty of things in common with post-communist Berlin, the Berlin shortly after the wall fell down. It won’t take much time until the appearance of Havana or Trinidad will change thoroughly as big money flocks onto the island in the Caribbean implicating massive changes. One of the mirrors reflecting such a change are the countless pay phones. Yet there are there. Yet they are needed. Reason enough for a critical examination with things seen in the form of a photo series »»

Cuba between Rum, Revolution and Reforms

Cuba between Rum, Revolution and ReformsRum and tobacco are more than only Cuba’s most important commercial goods. Both things are a mirror of the country’s policy and its major conflict that is resulting from the clash of two ideologies as Socialism faces the upcoming Neoliberalism. Cuba changes. Cuba opens up. Cuba discovers the world of money. Three reasons to capture the Cuban-Socialist iconography along my way as photo series and to get in touch with locals »»

Kolmanskop Ghost Town – Diamond Fever in the Namib Desert

Kolmanskop Ghost Town – Diamond Fever in the Namib DesertAgainst the background of the imperial endeavours of Great Britain and France, Germany’s colonial adventures started late. One of those liaisons, that even today sparks a yern to see distant places, is German South-West Africa, nowadays Namibia, where at the turn of the century diamonds got found. The story of that boom tells Kolmanskop; the once richest settlement of Africa existed only to wring the gem stones from the desert but is now an abandoned ghost town being reconquered by the sand of the Namib »»

Gasometer – Das Schöneberger Stahlskelett

26. Juli 2016

Gasometer – Das Schöneberger StahlskelettDas hippe und coole Berlin kann unglaublich flach sein, was im Wesentlichen an seiner Topografie liegt, deren höchste innerstädtische Erhebung ~100 Meter misst. Und da der deutsche Größenwahn einst auch die Maximalhöhe der Hauptstadthäuser regulierte, kann man auf hohen Gebäuden stehend problemlos ganz Berlin überblicken. Eines dieser aus dem Häusermeer ragenden, weithin sichtbaren Relikte ist das Schöneberger Gasometer, bekannt als Bühne der ebenfalls oft flachen Talkshow von Günther Jauch »»

Moskauer Metro – Königin der Untergrundbahnen

22. Juli 2016

Moskauer Metro – Königin der UntergrundbahnenDie Silvesterparty auf dem Roten Platz steckt mir noch gehörig in den Knochen. Was für einen Jahreswechsel von 2015 nach 2016 hatte ich da auf dem in westlichen Medien lügnerisch als geschlossen verkündeten Platz. Ich traf Russen, Ukrainer, Georgier, Armenier – und alle hatten wir eine großartige Zeit. Tagsüber sind es mittlerweile -21°C, eine knackige Kälte und geradezu geschaffen für Banja-Besuche oder dicke Ledermäntel. Jeden Morgen um 6 Uhr verlasse ich mein Domizil in der Bolschaja-Grusinskaja, der großen Georgischen, latsche durch den Schnee gen Barrikadnaja und begebe mich in die Metro Moskau um die Architektur all ihrer Linien und Bahnhöfe zu porträtieren. »»

Golden Turtle – Fast verspätet ausgezeichnet

19. Juli 2016

logo_enBereits im letzten Jahr nahm ich am Finale des Golden Turtle Fotowettbewerbs teil, dem größten öko-kulturellen Projekt Russlands. Dieses Jahr wurde ich nicht nur ausgestellt, diesmal in der Manege (Манеж) direkt neben dem Kreml, sondern sogar ausgezeichnet. Lediglich eine göttliche Fügung namens Rückenwind hat mich halbwegs pünktlich in Moskau ankommen lassen und vom Desaster des Verpassens der Preisverleihung verschont, denn Eurowings (ehemals Germanwings) war wieder mal zu spät »»

La Habana – Alte Dame der Karibik

11. Mai 2016

La Habana – Alte Dame der KaribikIm Lauf der Jahre gaben sowohl koloniale Besatzer als auch andere Besucher La Habana viele Namen. Da war von der „schmutzigen Schönen”, dem „Paris der Tropen” und auch von der „Alten Dame” die Rede wenn über die heutige Hauptstadt Kubas gesprochen wurde. Mit architektonischen Highlights und jeder Menge Musik, Rum und Zigarren stellt Vieja, das historische Zentrum von Havanna, jeden Tag aufs Neue unter Beweis, warum es ein UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe ist »»

Ostdeutschlands sowjetisches Erbe

9. Mai 2016

Ostdeutschlands sowjetisches ErbeManch Angehöriger der westlichen Hemisphäre mag sie im Rahmen seiner digital in Gut und Böse kategorisierenden Dämonisierung als Propaganda missinterpretieren, aber meine Fotoserie „Ostdeutschlands sowjetisches Erbe“ treibe ich voran, weil ich mich grundsätzlich für Geschichte interessiere. Und die Geschichte der Sowjetunion ist alles andere als uninteressant. Sie ist einzigartig und war, ob ich es will oder nicht, Teil meines Lebens, meines Aufwachsens »»

Cuba Calling, eine Münzfernsprecher-Story

28. April 2016

Cuba Calling, eine Münzfernsprecher-StoryDas heutige Kuba hat mit Berlin und Deutschland kurz vor und nach der Wende eine Menge Gemeinsamkeiten. Es wird nicht lange dauern bis sich das Erscheinungsbild von Havanna oder Trinidad grundlegend umgestaltet, denn das Geld reitet ein und bringt massive Veränderungen mit sich. Einer dieser Spiegel der Veränderung werden die zahlreichen Münzfernsprecher sein. Noch sind sie da. Noch werden sie gebraucht. Grund genug sich mit dem Gesehenen anhand einer Fotoserie kritisch auseinander zu setzen. »»

Kuba zwischen Rum, Revolution und Reformen

21. April 2016

Kuba zwischen Rum, Revolution und ReformenRum und Tabak sind für Kuba mehr als nur die wichtigsten Handelsgüter. An ihnen offenbart sich der im Lande, der in der inneren wie äußeren Politik verankerte ideologische Konflikt zwischen Sozialismus und aufkommendem Neoliberalismus. Kuba verändert sich. Kuba öffnet sich. Kuba entdeckt das große Geld. Drei Gründe die kubanisch-sozialistische Ikonografie meiner Reise in einer Fotoserie festzuhalten und ins Gespräch zu kommen »»

Geisterstadt Kolmannskuppe – Diamantenfieber in der Namib-Wüste

19. Februar 2016

Geisterstadt Kolmannskuppe – Diamantenfieber in der Namib-WüsteGemessen an Großbritanniens und Frankreichs imperialen Bestrebungen, begannen Deutschlands koloniale Abenteuer spät. Eine dieser, selbst in unseren Tagen noch Fernweh auslösenden Liaisons war Deutsch-Südwest, das heutige Namibia, wo um die Jahrhundertwende Diamanten gefunden wurden. Die Geschichte dieses Booms erzählt die Geisterstadt Kolmanskop, das einstige Kolmannskuppe, die reichste Kommune Afrikas, die nur des Abbaus der Glitzersteine wegen existierte und heute von der Namib-Wüste zurückerobert wird »»

Lüderitz – Deutschland am Rande der Namib-Wüste

11. Februar 2016

Lüderitz – Deutschland am Rande der Namib-WüsteEine Stadt mitten im Nirgendwo der Wüste, direkt am Atlantik und umgeben von Millionen Tonnen Sands. Eine Stadt, die den Elementen trotzend das architektonische Erbe der Wilhelminischen Epoche bis in die heutige Zeit konserviert und für Weltklasse Austern steht. All das ist Lüderitz; gelegen am Ozean, an der Westküste Namibias »»

Singapur – Schnittstelle im Südosten Asiens

6. Februar 2016

Singapur – Schnittstelle im Südosten AsiensAn der Nahtstelle zwischen südostasiatischem Festland und der Inselwelt Indonesiens sitzt Singapur. Mit 5,5 Millionen Einwohnern, lebend auf ~700km², ist es sowohl einer der kleinsten als auch am dichtesten besiedelten Stadtstaaten der Welt. Seit jeher war die Stadt ein Ort des Handels, bekannt unter Arabern, Indern, Chinesen und natürlich Malaien. Diese ethnische Durchmischung, als auch eine kompakte Bauweise, prägen ein nahezu klinisch reines Stadtbild, das neben automatisierten U-Bahnen  und luxuriöser Glas-Stahl-Architektur, kulminierend im Marina Bay Sands und seinem Infinity Pool, sowie historisch-religiöser Überbleibsel in Form von Hindu-und Buddha-Tempeln, einen interessanten Kontrast aufzubieten hat »»